Phil Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 All IMPs looong matches (opponents are playing Modified Precision) 1. NV: AKJxx J Txxx Txx - 1♥ - 1♠ - 2♣ - ? 2. NV: AQ9xx Tx KT9x AQ - 1♠ - 1N (SF) - 2♦ - 2♥ - ? (Please comment if you would open 1N) 3. NV: AKx Qxx xx AQ9xx - (1♦*) - pass - (3♦**) - x;(pass) - 3♥ - (Pass) - ? * could be short** preemptive 4. NV/V: void Axxx AKxx KT9xx (1♠*) - dbl - (4♠) - 5♦;(5♥) - 6♦ - (pass) - pass[(6♠) - ? * 4 card majors Agree with the bidding so far? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whereagles Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 All IMPs looong matches (opponents are playing Modified Precision) 1. NV: AKJxx J Txxx Txx - 1♥ - 1♠ - 2♣ - ? 2. NV: AQ9xx Tx KT9x AQ - 1♠ - 1N (SF) - 2♦ - 2♥ - ? (Please comment if you would open 1N) 3. NV: AKx Qxx xx AQ9xx - (1♦*) - pass - (3♦**) - x;(pass) - 3♥ - (Pass) - ? * could be short** preemptive 4. NV/V: void Axxx AKxx KT9xx (1♠*) - dbl - (4♠) - 5♦;(5♥) - 6♦ - (pass) - pass(6♠) - ? * 4 card majors Agree with the bidding so far? 1. I take it I'm responder. 2♠ and feeling great about it :) 2. Bidding is fine. Now pass. Might try 2NT if vuln, though. 3. You have failed to apply Hamman's rule #3: "when in doubt, bid 3NT" :P Now be consistent and pass. 4. Pass, showing the spade void and inviting to 7. I take it this is standard? Nice set. You're up against tuff opposition lol. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
awm Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 I think that I would pass on all hands. :P Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike gill Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 1) 2♠. It's not like 2♣ will necessarily be a good contract so I might as well keep the bidding open.2) 3♥. If partner frequently bids this on 5, maybe I'd pass. My doubleton heart makes partner's hand better. 3) Uhh, I don't really have extras here so why would I bid?4) I guess pass. This is tough, but I could see them making if partner doesn't have the ♣A, and if he does, we could be making grand. I'll pay off when both contracts are down and partner makes the wrong decision. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
y66 Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 2S on the first. Pass on the others. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pooltuna Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 1) Pass2) Yes I would open 1NT. Now I try 3♥ but I could certainly live with pass as we are NV3) Pass4) normally I would expect pass to show first round control of ♠ but I'm not sure I am in a FP situation so I think I have to whack Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JLOGIC Posted April 18, 2011 Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 +1 to pass on all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil Posted April 18, 2011 Author Report Share Posted April 18, 2011 1. Opener held Qxx AKQxx x AJxx and planned a 3 bid sequence. 2♣ was passed at both tables. My teammates held these. 2. I held this and passed. Pard held x QJ9xxx Ax xxxx. A trump lead is devastating, but not surprisingly a club hit. The hook worked and he ran out 11 tricks quickly. 3. Pard held Qx AJxx xx Kxxx. 3♥ played remarkably well. 4. This was a funny hand: [hv=pc=n&s=sha532dak92ckt942&w=sqj7654h84dj63cj3&n=shq6dqt8754ca8765&e=sakt9832hkjt97dcq&d=e&v=e&b=6&a=1sd4s5d5h6dpp6spp7ddppp]399|300[/hv] I passed as well. If East led a major suit card, we'd have a big pickup here, but he tabled the ♣Q. Teammates played 6♠ x'd, and misguessed hearts strangely for -500. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JLOGIC Posted April 19, 2011 Report Share Posted April 19, 2011 Void opposite void is super unlucky Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whereagles Posted April 19, 2011 Report Share Posted April 19, 2011 Did declarer in 6♠ pull trumps? :rolleyes: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil Posted April 19, 2011 Author Report Share Posted April 19, 2011 Did declarer in 6♠ pull trumps? :rolleyes: Haha. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted April 19, 2011 Report Share Posted April 19, 2011 I was afraid of scoring only 5♦ and 1 spade ruff for only 12 tricks when thinking of passing or not on the last one, but in the end I decided partner must have 6♦ on this bidding and passed also :( Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.