Jump to content

No director call: one partner forgets agreement


inquiry

Recommended Posts

On the same topic as Sathyab's "Ruling when one partner forgot agreement," but with adifferent outcome.

I had this hand at teams...

 

Txx Q9xxx Qxx xx

 

Our auction was....

 

(1NT*) - Pass - Pass - DBL (1NT was 12-14, Dbl showed a strong hand)

Pass - 2 - Pass - 2

Pass - ?

 

What do you bid?

 

Well, let me tell you what happened. In the elevator before the event, partner changed out methods on this auction but only againt Weak Notrump (which this was) from Dbl showing a minor or both majors to showing a strong hand, either balanced or source of tricks. I agreed. Then as we got off the elevator he said system on, again I agreed. I remembered that doubled showed a generic big hand, I forgot the system on stuff. So I bid 2 to play. He announced transfer and bid 2. When it came back to me, I passed. When my hand came down the opponents wanted to know who was right, partner was, he had alerted the correct agreement and it was so indicated on our convention card. We went down two not vul, they made 2 EW at the other table, for a push.

 

Yes, they should have doubled. At the table, I passed 2 rather than making a bid based on knowing partner expected me to have Spades. But later, a question no one asked occurred to me, should I raise to 3 on the given auction assume partner had an unbalanced hand for pulling my sign off in hearts and a lot of spades (since I can not be awoken by the alert). And if I raised to 3, might he bid four with his hand (sorry, team game, I don't remember what he had). We won the match, and even 3Sx down three or four would not have changed the match result, but 4x down five would have. Four spade could go down five with best defense.

 

Any thoughts? Should the opponents have called the director? If a director came to the table how might he have ruled. If you need to see partner's hand to make a ruling, you will have to create ones and say wtih this hand, I would rule 4 with this one 3, etc, again because I don't remember partner's hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the same topic as Sathyab's "Ruling when one partner forgot agreement," but with adifferent outcome.

I had this hand at teams...

 

Txx Q9xxx Qxx xx

 

Our auction was....

 

(1NT*) - Pass - Pass - DBL (1NT was 12-14, Dbl showed a strong hand)

Pass - 2 - Pass - 2

Pass - ?

 

What do you bid?

 

Well, let me tell you what happened. In the elevator before the event, partner changed out methods on this auction but only againt Weak Notrump (which this was) from Dbl showing a minor or both majors to showing a strong hand, either balanced or source of tricks. I agreed. Then as we got off the elevator he said system on, again I agreed. I remembered that doubled showed a generic big hand, I forgot the system on stuff. So I bid 2 to play. He announced transfer and bid 2. When it came back to me, I passed. When my hand came down the opponents wanted to know who was right, partner was, he had alerted the correct agreement and it was so indicated on our convention card. We went down two not vul, they made 2 EW at the other table, for a push.

 

Yes, they should have doubled. At the table, I passed 2 rather than making a bid based on knowing partner expected me to have Spades. But later, a question no one asked occurred to me, should I raise to 3 on the given auction assume partner had an unbalanced hand for pulling my sign off in hearts and a lot of spades (since I can not be awoken by the alert). And if I raised to 3, might he bid four with his hand (sorry, team game, I don't remember what he had). We won the match, and even 3Sx down three or four would not have changed the match result, but 4x down five would have. Four spade could go down five with best defense.

 

Any thoughts? Should the opponents have called the director? If a director came to the table how might he have ruled. If you need to see partner's hand to make a ruling, you will have to create ones and say wtih this hand, I would rule 4 with this one 3, etc, again because I don't remember partner's hand.

 

I had a lot of sympathy with Sathyab.

 

Yours is a very interesting general problem. Unfortunately I can't imagine doing anything on your poor hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the other hand you have a balanced 4-count, partner might have bid 2NT or 3S (depending on methods) if he had something really big and one of the opps opened, all of which vote for pass - I think TD would probably have to do a poll to find out the LAs here.

 

You're right though, you should act as though partner's shown a real spade suit.

 

ahydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The UI suggests running away from spades. I think you've already met your ethical obligation by staying in a spade contract. I'm not sure I would force you to raise with only a 4 count. Even though partner has shown a big hand by doubling and bidding, opener is sitting over him. If he had a real monster he could have jumped to 3.

 

A poll would be reasonable -- put me down as someone who would answer "Pass".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

With a stiff spade, I'd find a raise. I'd pass in the problem presented.

 

With two quacks and a balanced hand I'm happy to defend 1N x'd. Maybe not 1N xx'd if it comes back to me :P

 

I'm not sure 2 promises the moon. With a great spade suit, partner could have bid 3 the 1st time. With a great spade suit and a rock, partner could have bid 3 the 2nd time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...