Jump to content

Portland Pairs ruling (EBU)


VixTD

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=s63ha97dj94cak752&w=sak9542h82dq8cqj3&n=sqt87hkqt4dak32c8&e=sjhj653dt765ct964&d=s&v=b&b=7&a=1c1sdp2c2sdppp]399|300[/hv]

The first double was not alerted, negative (takeout).

The second double was not alerted, and on enquiry explained as "asking me to bid".

 

Result: 2X(W)-3, NS +800

 

The director was called at the end of play by West, who queried the description of the second double as "takeout". Both North and South said that their agreement was that the second double was for takeout.

 

How should the director proceed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ask E/W what infraction has occurred and how they have been damaged.

Indeed! You might also ask S why they passed the double if it was for take-out, but if the answer is that there was no attractive bid and it seemed like there was a good chance there were enough tricks to beat 2, then it is not clear there has been any infraction. Even if the way they play the second double is really more value-showing than take-out, with an expectation that it will be left in a reasonable amount of the time there there may have been MI but there is no obvious sign of damage - do E/W think they would have bid something else if they had thought the double was more penalty-orientated, and that if they had then they would have got a better score?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

do E/W think they would have bid something else if they had thought the double was more penalty-orientated, and that if they had then they would have got a better score?

I would be more tactful and ask E-W whether they preferred 3DX-7 or 3HX-7, when they wouldn't feel too grand, although they would score -2000. 3CX-5 for -1400 is the other option.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This smells. If North has a perfectly normal 2443 hand with 14 points 6 and 2 might both be making. No doubt it is technically true that the TD should ask E/W how they had been damaged but I would find it difficult to blame them if I got a very unfortunate reply like "I don't know, I just don't like cheating opponents."

 

Of course it is perfectly possible that there was merely MI. One of the strangenesses of bridge in this country is that some people despite all their experience still think only two types of double exist - penalties and takeout - so if partner makes a double which is neither by their agreements they still call it one or the other without intending to mislead.

 

I think the TD needs to be careful here to find out what is going on. But if they really claim to play it as takeout without further definition except that he wants me to bid then rule it as a fielded misbid.

 

If, as seems more likely, it is merely MI, then a lecture on the importance of informing opponents fully and freely seems indicated.

 

Thinking about it further, the TD must really investigate, because another explanation for the sequence has occurred to me: UI. Perhaps North's demeanour convinced South that this might be the time to pass?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This smells. If North has a perfectly normal 2443 hand with 14 points 6 and 2 might both be making.

Indeed they might. But if we move North's two smallest spades to East and two of East's clubs to North, then we cannot even make Five Clubs, and yet we are still collecting 500 from 2SX without a trump trick. It is true we can make 4 in the Moysian, but only because North has the ten of hearts.

 

North's second double is indeed played by most pairs as takeout, and, I expect, by this pair. South has a normal pass when North shows extra values holding AK, A and partner unlikely to have primary club support. North might have bid 3NT instead, but he is quite entitled to try double first.

 

Now if there is was a gesture, mannerism or the like which suggested to South that he passes, I would agree with you entirely. As 73B2 states, it is the gravest possible offence.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

One of the strangenesses of bridge in this country is that some people despite all their experience still think only two types of double exist - penalties and takeout - so if partner makes a double which is neither by their agreements they still call it one or the other without intending to mislead.

 

 

As the EBU pretty much split up doubles into takeout and penalty as part of their alerting rules is it really that surprising if people split up doubles in this way ie into alertable and non-alertable doubles which (barring a few exceptions) are penalty and non-penalty.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I was E or W and you offered me -2000, I'd say "i'll redouble for 4000, it's a bottom anyway :D"

 

Odd that N would make a takeout double with a non-takeouty shape. Wonder how many others would've bid 3NT instead? Hopefully North didn't bid X and then somehow indicate unlawfully to his partner that he meant it as penalty.

 

bluejak, could you explain whether you would penalise NS for this fielded misbid? Certainly South fielded it, but he doesn't really have any idea (assuming no UI) that North misbid. West could easily have some of North's HCPs.

 

ahydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

North's second double is indeed played by most pairs as takeout, and, I expect, by this pair. South has a normal pass when North shows extra values holding AK, A and partner unlikely to have primary club support. North might have bid 3NT instead, but he is quite entitled to try double first.

 

Really? I don't think so, North has already doubled and his partner said he had a one suited hand. The second double is for PENALTY!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

North's second double is indeed played by most pairs as takeout, and, I expect, by this pair. South has a normal pass when North shows extra values holding AK, A and partner unlikely to have primary club support. North might have bid 3NT instead, but he is quite entitled to try double first.

 

Now if there is was a gesture, mannerism or the like which suggested to South that he passes, I would agree with you entirely. As 73B2 states, it is the gravest possible offence.

 

 

Is it really? I play it as penalties in every partnership.

The other 'trendy' meaning is to play it as asking for a spade stop.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Really? I don't think so, North has already doubled and his partner said he had a one suited hand. The second double is for PENALTY!

Most play that the first double shows hearts, and South has simply said that he lacks 4 hearts. He could have 4 diamonds and 5+ clubs, and the second double allows them to find the diamond fit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This smells. If North has a perfectly normal 2443 hand with 14 points 6 and 2 might both be making. No doubt it is technically true that the TD should ask E/W how they had been damaged but I would find it difficult to blame them if I got a very unfortunate reply like "I don't know, I just don't like cheating opponents."

 

Of course it is perfectly possible that there was merely MI. One of the strangenesses of bridge in this country is that some people despite all their experience still think only two types of double exist - penalties and takeout - so if partner makes a double which is neither by their agreements they still call it one or the other without intending to mislead.

 

I think the TD needs to be careful here to find out what is going on. But if they really claim to play it as takeout without further definition except that he wants me to bid then rule it as a fielded misbid.

 

If, as seems more likely, it is merely MI, then a lecture on the importance of informing opponents fully and freely seems indicated.

 

Thinking about it further, the TD must really investigate, because another explanation for the sequence has occurred to me: UI. Perhaps North's demeanour convinced South that this might be the time to pass?

 

I agree with this. There are several possible explanations, some entirely innocent, of this sequence having occurred. The TD needs to be very careful and tactful in his questioning, to try to ascertain what was going through South's mind.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There are several possible explanations, some entirely innocent, of this sequence having occurred. The TD needs to be very careful and tactful in his questioning, to try to ascertain what was going through South's mind.

 

I agree with this. Even with my limited experience, I've seen enough to realise that jumping to conclusions about what might have happened is asking to be wide of the mark.

 

As it happens, I was interested in this board (Board 23 of the first session), and looked up the traveller. It was played 125 times: N/S played in game 91 times, and in partscore 6 times. Of the 28 times it was played E/W, 23 were in 2X by W, 3 in 3X and just once in 2 undoubled. I can imagine that there were plenty of WJOs, but I don't suppose that all 21 of the other 2X arose from N passing S's re-opening double.

 

If you're not just reading along, you'll see that I've given 27, not 28, E/W contracts. At our table, S opened the sort of nebulous 1 that says "I'm here" but not much more, my partner overcalled 1, and N passed, presumably waiting for a re-opening double or something. He's still waiting; we played in 1 making 5 tricks for -200.

 

PeterAlan

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How should the director proceed?

By asking South why, if North was "asking South to bid", South didn't bid.

 

Not that South should bid, of course - this is a routine pass. But South should try not to express open contempt for bluejak's view that it isn't, however strongly and justifiably that contempt might be felt, lest some ridiculous "fielded misbid" charge be laid against him.

 

Of course, if North stood on his chair when he doubled 2, I might... no, I might not. This is still a pass, even if jallerton won't ever have me on his team again for thinking so. I could have queen-jack sixth of clubs and a bunch of king-quacks; instead, I have only five clubs and ace-king-ace by way of defensive values. And I rebid 2, not 1NT, so partner isn't counting on me for anything at all in spades when he doubled in the knowledge that it might go all pass. When in the name of mercy will I ever pass this double, if not now?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As the EBU pretty much split up doubles into takeout and penalty as part of their alerting rules is it really that surprising if people split up doubles in this way ie into alertable and non-alertable doubles which (barring a few exceptions) are penalty and non-penalty.

No, the EBU splits up doubles of suits into takeout and others, not takeout and penalty.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

The problem is that the EBU has offered no guidance as to what is alertable in more complex situations. Jeremy's articles for English Bridge only covered the very basic situations and skirted carefully around anything more difficult.

 

I usually find that if partner doubles a low-level contract we will have no agreement about the specific sequence - after all, we have probably never doubled before in that sequence. We will however have a meta-agreement that it is takeout. But then the negative inferences from the fact that partner doubled rather than find a bid will add some very strong distributional constraints to partners hand, effectively making the double a constructive bid.

 

So, what then? Do I ponder for ten minutes or so trying to work out the probability that, over all possible deals that fit this particular sequence, I might choose to convert it to penalty? Or that partner could work out that I might choose to convert it to penalty? Just so that I can alert the bid as "not quite takeout"? Do I heck! After all, I know no more than the opponents.

 

Sorry EBU, but it is just too difficult for mee.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, what then? Do I ponder for ten minutes or so trying to work out the probability that, over all possible deals that fit this particular sequence, I might choose to convert it to penalty? Or that partner could work out that I might choose to convert it to penalty? Just so that I can alert the bid as "not quite takeout"?

A double does not stop being for takeout simply because partner might choose to convert it to penalty - indeed that's a feature of all takeout doubles.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, the EBU splits up doubles of suits into takeout and others, not takeout and penalty.

 

 

Well I did say "pretty much". I appreciate that there are a few cases that are neither take out or penalty but from where I am sitting the vast majority are either take-out (almost never alerted especially post August) or penalty (alerted if of a suit contract) [ignoring doubles over 3NT except again for a few special cases].

 

If the EBU splits things up differently from this then I would be grateful for a review of how.

 

I think if you asked 90%+ of EBU members they would say penalty of suit (alertable) or take-out (not alertable) & not be aware of any exceptions.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A double does not stop being for takeout simply because partner might choose to convert it to penalty - indeed that's a feature of all takeout doubles.

 

But, surely there becomes a point at which, despite the meta-agreement, the probability is high enough that it should be described as (per the OB) competitive, or maybe even optional. In which case, they are "not takeout" and therefore alertable. But at the table I have no idea - after all, we're both just muddling through, trying to find the best score on this particular hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Most play that the first double shows hearts, and South has simply said that he lacks 4 hearts. He could have 4 diamonds and 5+ clubs, and the second double allows them to find the diamond fit.

This is how I play it, but FrancesHinden's method may be better. I asked five of my club members last night and three had not discussed it, and I had one vote each for takeout and penalties. I suspect I might get a similar result if I cast my net in deeper waters. This hand is a clear plus for playing it as penalties, while swapping over four black cards with East to give Q10 KQxx AKxx xxx makes playing it as takeout better. We can collect 500 with no game on, when partner is a follower of burn not bluejak (good to see them disagreeing again, by the way). And if we are prepared to risk a fielded misbid we can collect 800 here.

 

My guess, now, is that the correct explanation was "undiscussed". And the 2-4-5-2 or 3-4-5-1 10-11 count is the hand that is very hard to bid if double is penalties, so I now think that takeout is perhaps better on reflection.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But, surely there becomes a point at which, despite the meta-agreement, the probability is high enough that it should be described as (per the OB) competitive, or maybe even optional. In which case, they are "not takeout" and therefore alertable.

 

In some circles, you could alert "no explicit agreement about this sequence, our general agreement is take-out, but there comes a point at which it is more competitive or even optional".

 

In other circles, opponents will assume that that quote describes an unalertable "takeout" double. :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The problem is with the explanation of the second double, not the double itself. It is not clear in the OP exactly when the second double was explained, but it doesn't matter. East had already done their side's damage by walking into the buzz-saw with the second spade bid.

 

Logic tells us the second double is not the same as:

 

1C (1S) X (2S)

P (P) X where the second double simply shows more strength, and 2NT would have shown more shape.

 

In the given auction, opener has already given his response to a normal negative double. If responder had club support, he could bid clubs. If responder had more serious distribution in the red suits, he could bid 2NT. This double suggests strongly defending 2SX.

 

I cannot see how e/w getting a correct explanation of the 2nd double would help them in the auction or in the play.

 

If the EBU requires an alert of penalty doubles, so be it. Still no damage.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the TD needs to be careful here to find out what is going on. But if they really claim to play it as takeout without further definition except that he wants me to bid then rule it as a fielded misbid.

How do you exactly define a 'fielded misbid'?

I mean, what are the bases of fielding? Because, I always meant there should be some prearragned agreement around that (implicit or explicit).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

By asking South why, if North was "asking South to bid", South didn't bid.

 

Not that South should bid, of course - this is a routine pass. But South should try not to express open contempt for bluejak's view that it isn't, however strongly and justifiably that contempt might be felt, lest some ridiculous "fielded misbid" charge be laid against him.

 

Of course, if North stood on his chair when he doubled 2, I might... no, I might not. This is still a pass, even if jallerton won't ever have me on his team again for thinking so. I could have queen-jack sixth of clubs and a bunch of king-quacks; instead, I have only five clubs and ace-king-ace by way of defensive values. And I rebid 2, not 1NT, so partner isn't counting on me for anything at all in spades when he doubled in the knowledge that it might go all pass.

 

Well it depends on what your idea of a "take-out double" is.

 

4 H 5 Competitive doubles

A competitive double suggests that the doubler wishes to compete further, without being certain of the best place to play, which may include defending the doubled contract. Partner is usually expected to take out, though he can pass on a hand more suitable for defence than his actions to date might indicate. In some situations competitive doubles may be called ‘action’.

4 H 6 Take-out doubles

A take-out double suggests that the doubler wishes to compete, and invites partner to describe his hand. Take-out doubles are frequently based on shortage in the suit doubled and preparedness to play in the other unbid suits, failing which significant extra values may be expected. Partner is expected to take out, though he can pass on a hand very suitable for defence in the context of what he can be expected to hold for his actions (if any) to date.

 

If you consider a common hand type for North's 2nd double to be a 1543 or 1552 shape (as the definition of a "take-out double" in 4H6 would suggest), then I'd be amazed if you were to pass on this hand.

 

Perhaps you consider that it doesn't make sense for the doubler to have a singleton spade on this auction (on the basis that he could always bid something else on the 1st or 2nd round with such a hand). Fair enough, but then you are playing the double as what the Orange Book defines as one of "competitive", "optional", "co-operative" and "penalties"; all of these meanings are alertable, as Gordon explains.

 

I know that you have pledged not to agree with Bluejak for the next two weeks, but the basic principle of what he says is correct. The TD should investigate the facts, which in this case involves trying to ascertain what was going through South's head, consult if necessary, and rule accordingly.

 

When in the name of mercy will I ever pass this double, if not now?

 

KQJx x Ax A9xxxx looks to have rather more defence than the actual South hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...