Jump to content

Foiled by Rule-of-Eleven


Recommended Posts

The bidding:

1NT-2NT-3NT ( opps silent )

 

The lead:

4 .... it went 4 7 8 ACE !

 

Dummy's 's

K 10 7

 

Declarer's 'S

A J 9

 

I took the Ace because I wanted ( needed ) an extra entry to dummy.

 

From Rule-of-Eleven ( if the lead was 4th best ) , LHO had to have the Q .

 

On the next lead I hooked the w/10 and RHO took w/Q ! ! !

 

Later I was told the Opening LEAD was from "2nd highest in a weak suit".

 

LHO hand was:

 

J

6 4 3 2

A Q J 3

Q 9 7 6

 

1) Was that LHO's best lead ? ( obviously it was here, because I was -1 in a cold contract ) .

 

2) Would you also lead 4th best at times when also playing "2nd highest from crap" ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Playing the Ace doesn't help to create an extra entry, the J is blocking you. If your LHO has Qxxx he can chose to cover or to duck your J. If he covers you'll have an extra entry, if he ducks you won't. For this trick to work you need the J in dummy.

 

1. This depends a lot on scoring imo.

2. Never say never when it comes to leading a suit. But it would be rare.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Playing the Ace doesn't help to create an extra entry, the J is blocking you. If your LHO has Qxxx he can chose to cover or to duck your J. If he covers you'll have an extra entry, if he ducks you won't. For this trick to work you need the J in dummy.

 

You can't play the 9 to the T?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

If LHO has lead 4th best, winning with the A does not guarantee that you will get 2 entries.

 

Is there something wrong with my math ?

 

If the 4 was 4th best, then 11-4 = 7 = cards higher than 4 in the other 3 hands: dummy, RHO and Declarer.

 

As Declarer, I can see all 7 after RHO plays the 8.

Ergo, LHO has to have the Q .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is there something wrong with my math ?

 

If the 4 was 4th best, then 11-4 = 7 = cards higher than 4 in the other 3 hands: dummy, RHO and Declarer.

 

As Declarer, I can see all 7 after RHO plays the 8.

Ergo, LHO has to have the Q .

 

What are your two entries, and how will the tricks on which you enter the dummy go? Now imagine that LHO refuses to cover your J.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is there something wrong with my math ?

 

If the 4 was 4th best, then 11-4 = 7 = cards higher than 4 in the other 3 hands: dummy, RHO and Declarer.

 

As Declarer, I can see all 7 after RHO plays the 8.

Ergo, LHO has to have the Q .

 

Nothing wrong with your maths, you might be cross-eyed though. What's been said in the last few posts is that you can't guarantee 2 entries EVEN WITH THE Q ONSIDE.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nothing wrong with your maths, you might be cross-eyed though. What's been said in the last few posts is that you can't guarantee 2 entries EVEN WITH THE Q ONSIDE.

I understand now.... LHO could put up the Q on the 2nd lead....( as you then said ) .

But at least I tried to get 2 entries.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can't play the 9 to the T?

And if LHO puts the Q in?

Yeah, but that's not how it went in my head.

If you take the first trick with the Ace and continue with the 9, LHO for sure must know you also have J (why else wouldn't you take with the 9?), so playing the Q is actually not that difficult.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...