kista Posted March 18, 2011 Report Share Posted March 18, 2011 [hv=pc=n&s=s953h9842daq9caq3&w=st862ht763d8cj864&n=skqj74hkq5d7542c5&e=sahajdkjt63ckt972&d=n&v=0&b=1&a=1s2nd3cppdp3dp3nppdppp]399|300|Both Vulnerable Dealer North -2N X & then X = Cooperative penalty[/hv] Pass followed by X by South would have been Penalty. Declarer ducked the ♣K from East and won the ♣continuation by East , ran the ♠9 to East's ♠A , won the ♣continuation , ran the ♠suit. East was strip squeezed and was reduced to ♥A♦KJ ♣109 and so declarer was home with the last 3 ♦tricks. for a score of +650 to NS. NS managed the bidding & play smartly. Could EW have done something to reach their par of 4♣X ? by way of better partnership agreement, reasoning or judgement. One way is to play the 3N X by E is to ask partner to decide to defend or bid since East can pass 3NT when he knows defending is best for their side. Could the auction & actions be different for other vulnerabilities ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted March 18, 2011 Report Share Posted March 18, 2011 Pass followed by X by South would have been Penalty.... Could the auction & actions be different for other vulnerabilities ? Well, with the above agreement there is a bit of a danger of 2NT being passed out when E/W are favourable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kista Posted March 18, 2011 Author Report Share Posted March 18, 2011 Well, with the above agreement there is a bit of a danger of 2NT being passed out when E/W are favourable. Pass here is only similar to a negative double treatment. Partner will know to balance with a double or bid, if 2N is passed by West (disclosing a misfit). NS can now get ready to collect the penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted March 18, 2011 Report Share Posted March 18, 2011 If pass followed by double is penalty, why didn't south do that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
quiddity Posted March 18, 2011 Report Share Posted March 18, 2011 If pass followed by double is penalty, why didn't south do that? I'm probably missing something.. why would he want to do that with a spade fit and only 3 cards in whichever minor they pick? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted March 19, 2011 Report Share Posted March 19, 2011 Oh sorry, he has three spades. I missed it looking at the ACE-QUEEN-THIRD IN BOTH OF THE OPPONENTS SUITS!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted March 19, 2011 Report Share Posted March 19, 2011 Oh sorry, he has three spades. I missed it looking at the ACE-QUEEN-THIRD IN BOTH OF THE OPPONENTS SUITS!! And ♥9, which is South's other vital defensive card. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted March 19, 2011 Report Share Posted March 19, 2011 ...and North would have pulled a penalty double if the 7 and 6 of diamonds had been swapped, of course. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cherdano Posted March 19, 2011 Report Share Posted March 19, 2011 I would also go for the penalty double route with the South hand. On many hands where 3mX would not go down sufficiently, LHO may bump to 4m. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.