Jump to content

Claim in a grand slam


Gerben42

Recommended Posts

To me, "should" means something a TD should not go looking for, and deals with only by a quiet word if called, unless it causes a problem. But if it causes a problem, then a PP is often appropriate. Is it an infraction? Quite possibly, but one that the TD does not worry about per se.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

There are loads of other examples. Here is one which would require a director at each table just to give out the PPs:

 

46A:

 

When calling a card to be played from dummy declarer should clearly state both the suit and the rank of the desired card.

 

Yes, I also thought of that one. I'd like to ask Ed whether he ever calls for a "low spade" or a "small spade" from dummy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, I also thought of that one. I'd like to ask Ed whether he ever calls for a "low spade" or a "small spade" from dummy.

 

Rarely. And Law 46B tells us how to rectify an infraction of Law 46A. Nothing in the law says that calling for "low spade" or whatever is not an infraction. And since it is an infraction, the TD can issue a PP for it. Law 90A: "The director, in addition to implementing the rectifications in these Laws, may also assess procedural penalties for any offense that unduly delays or obstructs the game, inconveniences other contestants, violates correct procedure or requires the award of an adjusted score at another table".

 

What started this was my assertion that in one particular case where a player did not do what he "should" do, he should get a PP. That is a judgment call. You may disagree with that judgment, but don't try to tell me the TD can't give a PP for it, or that it is not an infraction of law.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rarely. And Law 46B tells us how to rectify an infraction of Law 46A. Nothing in the law says that calling for "low spade" or whatever is not an infraction. And since it is an infraction, the TD can issue a PP for it.

 

I am not so sure. Law 46 deals with an incomplete designation of a card, and 70E gives concerns the lack of a claim statement. There seems to be an implication that these laws are applied when needed, and that the matter is then finished.

 

Now, if someone persistently commits these "infractions", causing annoyance, delay or frequent director calls, or clearly does of one these things in an attempt to gain an advantage thereby, that is another kettle of fish, and not, as far as I can tell, what we are discussing here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What started this was my assertion that in one particular case where a player did not do what he "should" do, he should might get a PP. That is a judgment call. You may disagree with that judgment, but don't try to tell me the TD can't give a PP for it, or that it is not an infraction of law.

That was indeed your assertion, but I corrected it with what I consider correct practice.

 

Rik

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You're confusing the issue Rik. I agree that in the general case where the particular infraction in question occurred, the correct word is "might". What I'm saying is that in the specific case at hand, I think a PP is warranted, hence I used, and continue to use, the word "should". If in your judgment it's not warranted, that's fine. If you're saying that I cannot give a PP in this case, you're wrong in law.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rarely. And Law 46B tells us how to rectify an infraction of Law 46A. Nothing in the law says that calling for "low spade" or whatever is not an infraction. And since it is an infraction, the TD can issue a PP for it. Law 90A: "The director, in addition to implementing the rectifications in these Laws, may also assess procedural penalties for any offense that unduly delays or obstructs the game, inconveniences other contestants, violates correct procedure or requires the award of an adjusted score at another table".

 

What started this was my assertion that in one particular case where a player did not do what he "should" do, he should get a PP. That is a judgment call. You may disagree with that judgment, but don't try to tell me the TD can't give a PP for it, or that it is not an infraction of law.

46B says that calling for "high" or "low" in a suit specifically means that declarer has called for the highest or lowest card in that suit; therefore, the declarer has completely specified the suit and rank of the card he wants played and no infraction has occurred.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You're confusing the issue Rik. I agree that in the general case where the particular infraction in question occurred, the correct word is "might". What I'm saying is that in the specific case at hand, I think a PP is warranted, hence I used, and continue to use, the word "should". If in your judgment it's not warranted, that's fine. If you're saying that I cannot give a PP in this case, you're wrong in law.

Of course, according to the Laws you can give a PP, which is the reason why I corrected it to "might". I just think that it would be wrong to do so (which you call "judgement"). Therefore "should" does not apply. In my opinion "should not" would be much closer to the truth. But... that would be my judgement.

 

Rik

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why should a person who made an incorrect claim, which is not a terribly uncommon occurrence, receive a PP? How is this case different from other cases that don't deserve a PP?

 

Speaking personally, I object to the attitude behind the claim (or at least what I perceive as the attitude given the OP).

Claiming with a statement such as "dummy's high" only to have it pointed out that dummy isn't high, or forgetting there's a trump outstanding (a common one), is usually a genuine mistake having lost track of the play in some embarrassing manner.

 

Claiming without stating a line in a grand slam in a serious event where you don't actually have 13 top tricks is not a genuine misplay/mistake it is IMO rude to your opponents, disrespectful to the TD and (if you are lucky enough to have Sven directing) a good way to avoid having to think about the play, because you can just let the TD assume you will play carefully enough to make the contract - and now you don't have to bother.

 

I probably wouldn't give a PP because I'd just awarded 7NT-1, but I have no objection to Blackshoe doing so.

  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Speaking personally, I object to the attitude behind the claim (or at least what I perceive as the attitude given the OP).

Claiming with a statement such as "dummy's high" only to have it pointed out that dummy isn't high, or forgetting there's a trump outstanding (a common one), is usually a genuine mistake having lost track of the play in some embarrassing manner.

 

Claiming without stating a line in a grand slam in a serious event where you don't actually have 13 top tricks is not a genuine misplay/mistake it is IMO rude to your opponents, disrespectful to the TD and (if you are lucky enough to have Sven directing) a good way to avoid having to think about the play, because you can just let the TD assume you will play carefully enough to make the contract - and now you don't have to bother.

 

I probably wouldn't give a PP because I'd just awarded 7NT-1, but I have no objection to Blackshoe doing so.

I do not think this right at all: it is not disrespectful: it is an inability to count. Someone who who claims in 7NT without a statement is in effect saying he has 13 top tricks and the claim shoud be treated as such.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I do not think this right at all: it is not disrespectful: it is an inability to count.

You misunderstood what Frances wrote. She said that, specifically in the case that he had not miscounted, and was perfectly aware there were only 12 top tricks, it would then be disrespectful. Frances' perception from the way the case was described suggested this could well actually be the case. I agree with her.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Declarer claims 13 tricks while he has only 12 tricks, and he didn't state the order in which he'll play the suits. However, we're not allowed to let him "play" foolishly. The normal line is to run s and test the . If don't break, you'll take one of the finesses, or play for a squeeze. Any way you look at it, the contract will be made.

 

Yes, there's a line that ruins his contract, but it's not the least bit logical. Everyone can play all Aces and K, but it's so foolish that it's not acceptable as an argument. They deserve a procedural penalty imo, but the contract makes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, there's a line that ruins his contract, but it's not the least bit logical. Everyone can play all Aces and K, but it's so foolish that it's not acceptable as an argument.

Sure, it's foolish if you are trying to find a way of making an extra trick, but I don't really see any order of cashing 13 tricks as foolish except one that blocks a suit when there are no other entries available.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...