Jump to content

imadvertant


shevek

Recommended Posts

Then it had nothing to do with "unintended", nor with this thread, and I'm not surprised the appeal was deemed frivolous.

You might need to re-read the Australian regulations (which are the relevant one's for this thread as that was the jurisdiction in which the OP's situation arose). There are two states of a bid, "made" and "selected". Bids are "made" when the bidding cards are "held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or maintained in such a position as to indicate that the call has been made". There is nothing in the Australian regulations that would permit a director to allow a "made" bid to be changed. A "selected" bid is quite a different concept and is the mere the act of touching or extracting a bidding card from the box but not going so far as to "make" the actual bid. Under Australian regulations, "selected" bids can be changed if the TD determined that the selection was unintentional; but once a bid is "made" there is no turning back.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You might need to re-read the Australian regulations (which are the relevant one's for this thread as that was the jurisdiction in which the OP's situation arose). There are two states of a bid, "made" and "selected". Bids are "made" when the bidding cards are "held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or maintained in such a position as to indicate that the call has been made". There is nothing in the Australian regulations that would permit a director to allow a "made" bid to be changed. A "selected" bid is quite a different concept and is the mere the act of touching or extracting a bidding card from the box but not going so far as to "make" the actual bid. Under Australian regulations, "selected" bids can be changed if the TD determined that the selection was unintentional; but once a bid is "made" there is no turning back.

Are you saying that Australian regulations override laws so that (for instance?) once a call has been made as defined by the applicable regulation then an otherwise genuine Law 25A change of the call made is not allowed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sounds like that's what he's saying. Also sounds like an illegal regulation. :unsure:

So I thought too, but when I tried to look up the equivalent of 1997 Law 80F in the 2007 laws I couldn't find it :unsure:

 

What has happened to the restriction that a regulation must not be in conflict with the laws?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, so passing a splinter is a thinking error. That's fine.

 

What of the player who opens 1 with 6 spades?

 

Maybe he was thinking of a different hand, or his mental faculties are starting to fade.

Typically it's not a misgrab of the bidding card. He places 1, maybe orders a cappuccino. If he's lucky he looks at his hand then the 1 card and says "Oops".

 

What exactly should the director do and say?

 

Might your approach be different if he'd pulled the 1 card? Now the chances of misgrab are higher, though that is irrelevant in many places. Perhaps his mind was saying "transfer". Perhaps he plays transfer openings with other partners!

How deep is the director expected to delve?

 

Nick

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, so passing a splinter is a thinking error. That's fine.

 

What of the player who opens 1 with 6 spades?

 

Maybe he was thinking of a different hand, or his mental faculties are starting to fade.

Typically it's not a misgrab of the bidding card. He places 1, maybe orders a cappuccino. If he's lucky he looks at his hand then the 1 card and says "Oops".

 

What exactly should the director do and say?

 

Might your approach be different if he'd pulled the 1 card? Now the chances of misgrab are higher, though that is irrelevant in many places. Perhaps his mind was saying "transfer". Perhaps he plays transfer openings with other partners!

How deep is the director expected to delve?

 

Nick

 

Sometimes the director just has to hope that the player will not lie and claim a "misgrab" when he had a mental lapse.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jurisdiction is pretty important here as bidding box procedures are subject to local regulation. Assuming this happened in Australia, the relevant regulations in force at the moment are:

 

 

In Australia I have personal experience of TDs and appeals committee taking a pretty lenient view of what "unintentionally" means. Specifically, I was involved in a case where a player misdescribed his partner's bid and pulled 4 out of the box (which would've been the final contract in a 4-2 fit) and held it less than an inch from the table on a slight angle and visiable to all before realising his error and put it back and made an alternative bid that lead them to a making slam in a 6-4 fit. The TD ruled (and the appeals committee concurred giving me a 1VP appeal without merit fine) that he bid 4 unintentionally and could change it without penalty.

 

So in this case, in Australia at least, I think the guy who had the brain-snap and pulled the pass card out would have a pretty good chance of finding a TD or appeals committee willing to let him change his call to 4.

The WBFLC made it pretty clear some years back as to what calls may be changed: this is not one. So it appears the Australian "interpretation" does not follow the Law as the WBFLC sees it.

 

Unintended depends on what was intended at the time the call was made, not the logic of the situation nor the player's earlier ideas.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well the Laws don't say that bids just stand, do they?

 

So we have 'unintended'. Do you believe that the player intended to sign off in 4D? Campboy gives us the Cambridge linguistic philosopher answer. 'At the time he pulled the pass card he intended to pull the pass card.' Impressive logic eh.

That is not a "Cambridge linguistic philosopher answer". It is the answer given by the WBFLC followed by TDs around the world [except, perhaps, in Australia].

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But I have no enthusiasm for mind reading nonsense about intent, when the logic of the cards is plain. Such an approach just leads to random decisions as mrdct indicates.

Your enthusiasm or otherwise is not the point. The Law is about unintended calls, and intent is thus part of it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just a short note re Australian bidding box regulations, of which the current version is located here.

 

Relevant (IMO) quotes below, including all references to "select/ed":

 

3.1 A call is made by the player selecting the appropriate card from the bidding box and placing it

on the table (no screens) or on the bidding tray (with screens). [...]

 

3.5 A call is considered made (without screens) when a bidding card is removed from the bidding

box and held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or maintained in such a position as

to indicate that the call has been made.

 

3.6 A call selected may be changed without penalty if it is determined by the Director that

• It is a call selected unintentionally or

• It has not passed the screen and the Director consents to the change.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So I thought too, but when I tried to look up the equivalent of 1997 Law 80F in the 2007 laws I couldn't find it :unsure:

 

What has happened to the restriction that a regulation must not be in conflict with the laws?

 

 

80B2{f}.

Thanks! (And I didn't even notice it when I searched the entire law text for "regulat" :P :) )

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just a short note re Australian bidding box regulations, of which the current version is located here.

 

Relevant (IMO) quotes below, including all references to "select/ed":

The wording of the regulation is in line with the Law. It is the interpretation we were told that does not fit in. Unintentionally means "I did not mean to select this card" at the time I selected it, and so the WBFLC says. We were told here that Australian TDs have been given a different interpretation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

P.S. How do I keep all of the nested quotes in my reply?

I do not think you can. You can use MultiQuote by finding when the nested quotes come from and quote them individually using MultiQuote. As far as I am aware that is the only way.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The wording of the regulation is in line with the Law. It is the interpretation we were told that does not fit in. Unintentionally means "I did not mean to select this card" at the time I selected it, and so the WBFLC says. We were told here that Australian TDs have been given a different interpretation.

And I think it is worth emphasizing that the player need not discover his mistake and try to correct it until (just) before his partner has subsequently called.

 

The fact that the unintended call was actually made, and even that the player's LHO has subsequently called is irrelevant for Law 25A1 to apply.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just a short note re Australian bidding box regulations, of which the current version is located here.

 

Relevant (IMO) quotes below, including all references to "select/ed":

Presumably "made" calls are a subset of "selected" calls, which is why I'm not sure that mrdct's interpretation of this regulation is the only one possible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You might need to re-read the Australian regulations (which are the relevant one's for this thread as that was the jurisdiction in which the OP's situation arose). There are two states of a bid, "made" and "selected". Bids are "made" when the bidding cards are "held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or maintained in such a position as to indicate that the call has been made". There is nothing in the Australian regulations that would permit a director to allow a "made" bid to be changed. A "selected" bid is quite a different concept and is the mere the act of touching or extracting a bidding card from the box but not going so far as to "make" the actual bid. Under Australian regulations, "selected" bids can be changed if the TD determined that the selection was unintentional; but once a bid is "made" there is no turning back.

Laurie Kelso, the moderator of the Appeals forum on http://www.abda.org.au/forum/index.php tells me this is not so.

 

He writes: "The expiration period for a Law 25A1 correction remains as per Law (i.e. up until that person's partner subsequently calls). The Australian bidding box regulations do not impinge upon this right..."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...