lexlogan Posted December 22, 2010 Report Share Posted December 22, 2010 Some cases I hope aren't controversial (ACBL, if that matters):(1) Dummy won the last trick. Declarer detaches a card from his hand but has not yet put it in a "played" position. Dummy can say "In your hand"; the card was not yet played; dummy prevented the irregularity.(2) As above, but the card is held in the "played" position; the card is played, it is too late for dummy to prevent the irregularity, either defender may accept the play or require declarer to lead from dummy.(3) Declarer won the last trick. Declarer names a card in dummy: "Ace of Clubs." The card is played, it is too late to prevent the irregularity, either defender may accept the play or require declarer to lead from hand. Trickier cases:(4) Declarer won the last trick and starts to call for a card "Ace.."; dummy interrupts "In your hand." There are two Aces in dummy; no card is yet played; dummy has prevented the irregularity, declarer leads from his hand. Agree or disagree?(5) As in #4, but there is only one Ace in dummy. I do not believe a card has yet been played, and the ruling is the same as #4. It is true that if declarer paused after saying "Ace", he has made an incomplete designation, and the sole Ace must be played, but I don't think that changes anything here, the designation was not yet complete, no card was yet played. Agree or disagree? (I might rule the card played if the statement were something like "Play the Ace" unless declarer routinely used the formulation "Play the Ace of Clubs".) What actually happened:As West, playing a slam with no entry to my hand to take a crucial finesse, the defense slipped and gave me an entry. I called for the Ace of Clubs, and partner said "In your hand". I paused, neither defender said anything, so I proceeded to take the finesse and land the slam. Should I have called the director? North, a life master, should have accepted with the finessable King. I feel no obligation to protect such players from ignorance of the rules; I'm sure 90% or more of players at our club would not realize it was too late for dummy to say anything. But is it illegal to continue play after giving the defenders time to speak up? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted December 23, 2010 Report Share Posted December 23, 2010 Yes, it is illegal. A player has drawn attention to an irregularity so why not call the TD? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bbradley62 Posted December 23, 2010 Report Share Posted December 23, 2010 So, the defenders slipped up and gave you an entry, and you slipped it back to them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.