Jump to content

Simultaneous mistake


Fluffy

Recommended Posts

With 2 tricks to go, playing 4 hearts, declarer holds 9 and 10 both are top tricks a this moment.

 

an opponent is on lead and has Q and 8

 

instead of leading Q wich is good defender pulls 8 and plays, but at the same time declarer claims (unaware of a trump left it seemed, but didn't say anything).

 

How many tricks for each side?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The answer is not clear in law.

 

I would rule as follows: simultaneous calls or plays are resolved so that the legal action is deemed to have happened first; the sequence lead-then-claim is legal, the sequence claim-then-lead is not ("play ceases", Law 68D); so I would rule the lead is deemed to have happened first. Declarer makes both tricks: only legal play of the remaining cards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...