Jump to content

Help with Polish Club ruling


gordontd

Recommended Posts

A Q 9

K Q 10

A 6

A Q J 7 3

 

 

MPs, 2nd in, NV vs Vul

 

(P) - 1* - (1) - P

(P) - 1NT - (P) - 2

(P) - ?

 

1 was Polish

1NT rebid showed 19-21 (yes, you know you have one more point than that)

2 in principle is a transfer, but because of the overcall you think it must be natural

You are playing with a fairly new partner and have gaps in your agreements

 

What do you bid now?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would probably bid 3NT (after 2) because I have more than 19-21 and more than a stop. (I would assume I am playing "system on" here.)

 

After 2-3-, I would still probably bid 3NT.

Edited by RMB1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I bid 2 and hope to know what is going on when next it is my turn to call. I do not rule out the possibility of not getting another turn to call, the 1 overcall may have been a psyche.

 

But, if 2 is in principle a transfer, I complete the transfer. I take "in principle a transfer" to mean that there are no partnership agreements about the auction (1)-1N-(P)-2 (or similar) which would suggest another principle to be in play.

 

I do not try to do something clever to make up for my apparent underbid of 1N, though I will, of course, accept all invitations that partner might make.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

MPs, 2nd in, NV vs Vul

A Q 9 K Q 10 A 6 A Q J 7 3

(P) - 1* - (1) - P

(P) - 1NT - (P) - 2

(P) - ?

1 was Polish

1NT rebid showed 19-21 (yes, you know you have one more point than that)

2 in principle is a transfer, but because of the overcall you think it must be natural

You are playing with a fairly new partner and have gaps in your agreements

What do you bid now?

IMO 2 = 10, 3 = 7, 3 = 5. _P = 1.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...