campboy Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 Absolutely, a player doesn't need an opinion on that to ask for a ruling. But it is hardly fair to complain that the director hasn't considered the effect of UI on South when South doesn't have any UI. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peachy Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 3♥ was announced as a transfer, isn't it logical to play in your 9 card fit rather than 3N with ♥ xxx?In another response you mentioned these were C players with 'no masterpoints'. For THEM, in my estimation, it is inconceivable not to play in a 9-card major suit fit when such is located via the transfer. It may even be that they had no agreement and that the transfer announcement was made in confusion; I don't expect a reasonable player to agree to a method where after a 2C opening, the weaker hand is made declarer on purpose. However, if it can be ascertained that their agreement was 'transfer', then - as said above - it is odd that they stayed in 3NT. But that is what C-player bridge often is, odd. Nevertheless, the TD owes the players an investigation into facts also in cases where he rules "no adjustment, result stands". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted December 4, 2010 Report Share Posted December 4, 2010 Iusion; I don't expect a reasonable player to agree to a method where after a 2C opening, the weaker hand is made declarer on purpose.They may not have ever agreed this explicitly. Someone probably taught them that after 2♣-2♦(waiting)-2NT you play your normal NT responses, and they just assume this applies to 2♣-2NT for consistency. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wank Posted December 16, 2010 Report Share Posted December 16, 2010 lol on bbo i regularly see people pass to give false preference to partner's second suit with 1 and 3 or some such. many people just don't understand the concept of giving preference. as such i don't consider south's actions suspicious at all - a bad player will consider himself to have done his duty with 3S, what happens next is partner's responsibility. what is suspicious though is the 3H transfer agreement. i would guess south was confused about when transfers apply. EW had misinformation then, but we've got no clue as to this being relevant on the hand, i.e. did it damage EW? obviously at the time of the bid north considered 3H to be natural, unsurprisingly. assuming he didn't convert to south's absurd way of thinking he should have corrected the definition prior to the lead. he didn't so give him a stern talking to/PP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.