Jump to content

Alert issue


Hanoi5

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=st64h83d853ct8632&w=sj732hj952dqtcq75&n=sak85ha4dj62cakj4&e=sq9hkqt76dak974c9&d=n&v=n&b=5&a=1c2np3cd3dp3hdppp]399|300[/hv]

 

N/S play Roman Club. 1 is not neccessarily natural. 2NT was alerted but no one asked. After 3 South asks East what 3 meant and receives a non-courteous answer of to play; South now asks West what 3 was and West kindly explains that 2NT shows the two unbid minors but that as 1 is not natural it could mean something else (West claims she said it could be + or +). North doubles 3, in her own words 'based on HCP's'. After the lead is made the Director was called, the hand was played and made and North claims she wouldn't have doubled if she had been told 2NT was any two-suiter and/or a strong hand, she would have liked to be told the complete information about the bid for then she wouldn't have doubled.

 

What shall the Director/Appeals committee decide?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Frankly, I cannot see how North has any case at all?

2NT was correctly alerted but she didn't ask.

During the auction she was given all the information there is?

OK, so a pretty tenuous MI case. What about UI? I guess since north did not start asking questions until after 3 then east did not have any UI at the time they bid 3 about a possible misunderstanding of which suits 2NT was showing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=pc=n&s=st64h83d853ct8632&w=sj732hj952dqtcq75&n=sak85ha4dj62cakj4&e=sq9hkqt76dak974c9&d=n&v=n&b=5&a=1c2np3cd3dp3hdppp]399|300| N/S play Roman Club. 1 is not neccessarily natural. 2NT was alerted but no one asked. After 3 South asks East what 3 meant and receives a non-courteous answer of to play; South now asks West what 3 was and West kindly explains that 2NT shows the two unbid minors but that as 1 is not natural it could mean something else (West claims she said it could be + or +). North doubles 3, in her own words 'based on HCP's'. After the lead is made the Director was called, the hand was played and made and North claims she wouldn't have doubled if she had been told 2NT was any two-suiter and/or a strong hand, she would have liked to be told the complete information about the bid for then she wouldn't have doubled. What shall the Director/Appeals committee decide?[/hv]

West explained that 2N shows the two unbid minors but that as 1 is not natural it could mean something else (West claims she said it could be + or +). But was 3 alerted? Presumably, West knew that 3 showed and . IMO, if so, 3 should have been alerted. Some may consider that to be general Bridge knowldge. But was it clear to North? Without an alert? IMO, it is not plausible to argue that North should protect herself by asking again, about an unalerted call, in an auction where opponents have already admitted that they have no definite understanding. I suppose that 3 could require an alert, too, but that is less clear-cut
Link to comment
Share on other sites

West explained that 2N shows the two unbid minors but that as 1 is not natural it could mean something else (West claims she said it could be + or +). But was 3 alerted? IMO, it should have been. Presumably, West knew that 3 showed and . Some may consider that to be general Bridge knowldge. But was it clear to North? Without an alert? IMO, it is not plausible to argue that North should protect herself by asking again, about an unalerted call, in an auction where opponents have already admitted that they have no definite understanding. IMO 3 may require an alert too but that is less clear-cut

If EW have no clear understanding, then there is no requirement to alert.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If EW have no clear understanding, then there is no requirement to alert.

What?!? :blink: Is this really the normal procedure?

 

Suppose you play something artificial (say suction) against artificial 1 openings. The auction starts 1-2 where 1 shows 2+ in a 5542-frame. Some people consider this an artificial 1, some consider this natural. If you're not sure what your partner thinks about this opening, and you don't alert 2, don't you think there will be a big problem when partner has the minors or instead of the normal length in ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[After 3 South asks East what 3 meant and receives a non-courteous answer of to play

I think you mean it was an inaccurate answer, rather than discourteous. I suspect you mean that he should have said it was "pass or correct". In which case "to play" is clearly misleading. Would North have doubled a bid described as "pass or correct"? Would East have bid 3D over a bid he described as "to play" if undoubled?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

I think this depends somewhat on North's ability. If North is an expert I see no damage whatever. He had all the information, it was obvious what East had, and his double was a complete and very clearly ill-judged gamble.

 

If North is a novice then he has a right to have the agreements and nuances carefully and fully explained so there is no question of him making a mistake partly through not knowing his opponents' agreements.

 

Probably North is in between the two, so whether I adjust might depend on which end of the scale he is nearer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...