Cyberyeti Posted November 21, 2010 Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 The tournament is the Tollemache, inter-county teams of 8, reasonably serious with players that should have a vague knowledge of what they're doing. You open a weak 2D and hear this auction, almost unopposed after your opener by the opps: (2D)-2N-3♥-4♥-4N-5♦-(X)-6♠-6N-7♥ The 2N overcaller is 3334 with ♦AQ10 and the other hand is 7501. 7♥ is on a 2 way heart finesse which he gets right. Depending on what I lead , 7♠ is either laydown or on the same heart finesse. 3♥ is a transfer to spades, not alerted. The 7♥ bid seems clear use of UI as he should bid 7♠ after partner's "transfer break" 4♥. If I was being really picky, I might say that in 7♠, of course I find the right lead, and when declarer discovers I have no spades (I'm 0274 and didn't fancy a vul 3♦ on 7 to the J), he's more likely to play me for the Q♥, but if I assume he'll get them right as he did in 7♥, should I: a) say nothingB) inform the directing staffc) take myself permanently off the oppos christmas card list by muttering the words procedural penalty If I do inform the directing staff, what should they do about it ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted November 21, 2010 Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 Boy that sucks but they got to the inferior grand that always needs a guess and then guessed it so all I give you is directions to the nearest bar. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted November 21, 2010 Author Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 Boy that sucks but they got to the inferior grand that always needs a guess and then guessed it so all I give you is directions to the nearest bar.This was more or less what happened, I wasn't looking for an adjustment, just not sure if I should bother reporting this if it happens again. I discussed this with one of the EBU TDs at the venue (who also frequents these boards), and the conversation was interesting enough to wish to post this for other opinions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfa1010 Posted November 21, 2010 Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 I think you should either call the TD at the table or forever say nothing. It is unfair to your opponents with underhand allegations that they can't defend properly against. As I understand your posts a TD was indeed available for a ruling at the site. I don't know how these things work in England, but I strongly feel that the directing staff should wave you away if you came and presented the case afterwards with the intend to 'harm' your opponents. If the intend was to just get an opinion out of pure academic interest then that is a different matter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted November 21, 2010 Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 Obviously as TD I would ask a number of questions about South's calls. However, I don't think the 7♥ is actually a problem. North's bidding by this stage makes no sense not only because he pulled to 6NT but also because South can presumably work out from the keycard response that he has the ♦A and yet chose to superaccept with a heart cue. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted November 21, 2010 Report Share Posted November 21, 2010 I think you should either call the TD at the table or forever say nothing. It is unfair to your opponents with underhand allegations that they can't defend properly against. As I understand your posts a TD was indeed available for a ruling at the site. I don't know how these things work in England, but I strongly feel that the directing staff should wave you away if you came and presented the case afterwards with the intend to 'harm' your opponents. If the intend was to just get an opinion out of pure academic interest then that is a different matter.I completely agree with Michael. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted November 22, 2010 Author Report Share Posted November 22, 2010 I think you should either call the TD at the table or forever say nothing. It is unfair to your opponents with underhand allegations that they can't defend properly against. As I understand your posts a TD was indeed available for a ruling at the site. I don't know how these things work in England, but I strongly feel that the directing staff should wave you away if you came and presented the case afterwards with the intend to 'harm' your opponents. If the intend was to just get an opinion out of pure academic interest then that is a different matter.It was pure academic interest, the director was somebody I knew (having been at university with him many years before), and I mentioned no names of the opps and wouldn't do so. I actually mentioned it (affably) to the opponent at the table, and he agreed that in the cold light of day he should have bid 7♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.