Jump to content

take your call back behind screens?


kgr

Recommended Posts

I find this one of the strange positions that can happen in the game, screens or not.

 

You are not permitted to change your call, however if you do change your call then LHO has the opportunity to accept the change. It seems that you are a lot better off by not calling the Director when you recognise your error, just change the call and hope that LHO does not call the Director and passes, perhaps misunderstanding the Laws.

 

However is this not unethical behaviour, since you would be intentionally breaking the Law but willing to pay the penalty? But this was not the view of the EBU Director's when it occurred in the Camrose two years ago (Garvey-Cooke vs Sime-Matheson) although there were extenuating circumstances (details).

 

Finally, with screens there is a different requirement for a call to be made, usually the release of the call on the tray. Just pulling a card from the bidding box is not sufficient.

 

Paul

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No. Law 25B applies. There is nothing in the Screen Regs to permit such a change.

Thank you for the answer!

Opps was telling me that the same happened at the other table and he allowed to take the bid back & I thought that it wasn't allowed, but I wasn't 100% sure about the regulation. So I allowed him to change his call.

I told this at the bar after the game and was told the story about bidding behind screens:

The bidding did go something like 1S-2S-4S-(...thinking by opp and then the 4S bidder changed his bid to 3NT). I was very surprised that this was allowed (:) ). So I asked the story teller if a Director was called after this changed bid. And they told me that a director allowed this and that he said that it is allowed until opps have bid.

Maybe there is a special regulation in Belgium, or maybe it wasn't the best director, or maybe something was not really true or understood from the story.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1-(pass)-<screen>-1NT!-(pass)

2-(pass)-<screen>-2-(Pass)

Pass

Opps play some kind of 2/1. 1NT was forcing.

Last pass was taken back when he realized that 2 was a -fit and limit+.

Is it allowed to take this pass back when opp has not yet passed?

 

With or without screens, he's certainly allowed to take his pass back if the 2S bid was alerted late/not at all, under usual MI rulings.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

With or without screens, he's certainly allowed to take his pass back if the 2S bid was alerted late/not at all, under usual MI rulings.

I don't think you're allowed to take your own call back just because you've forgotten to alert partner's. After all, if you'd remebered to do the latter, you would presumably not want to do the former.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The bidding did go something like 1S-2S-4S-(...thinking by opp and then the 4S bidder changed his bid to 3NT). I was very surprised that this was allowed (:) ). So I asked the story teller if a Director was called after this changed bid. And they told me that a director allowed this and that he said that it is allowed until opps have bid.

Maybe there is a special regulation in Belgium, or maybe it wasn't the best director, or maybe something was not really true or understood from the story.

Maybe it happened some time ago? The regulations changed a couple of years ago.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...