dickiegera Posted October 24, 2010 Report Share Posted October 24, 2010 Bidding goes 1D-X-3C-P [ asked about 3C and was told lots of Clubs and some points] 3D- all pass Before opening lead I told the person making the lead that 3C [7 Clubs and 5 points] was weak as our CC both had.Director was called and he allowed the doubler to change his bid which he changed to doubleDown 3 Was this correct?Thank you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 24, 2010 Report Share Posted October 24, 2010 Bidding goes 1D-X-3C-P [ asked about 3C and was told lots of Clubs and some points]I presume "some points" meant more points than "weak". Was this correct?No. If there was misinformation, then the final pass can be changed. But doubler can not change his pass because his partner has subsequently called: Law 21 B.1.(a). But the TD can adjust the score on the basis that doubler would have doubled again if the 3♣ was weak by agreement: Law 21 B.3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 25, 2010 Report Share Posted October 25, 2010 It seems the TD made an error. So perhaps he should, treating both sides as non-offending, allow the declaring side to keep their undoubled result, and give the defenders the doubled result. IMO, words like "weak", "strong", and so on are too vague. Both your SCs and your explanations should be more precise. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dickiegera Posted October 25, 2010 Author Report Share Posted October 25, 2010 It seems the TD made an error. So perhaps he should, treating both sides as non-offending, allow the declaring side to keep their undoubled result, and give the defenders the doubled result. IMO, words like "weak", "strong", and so on are too vague. Both your SCs and your explanations should be more precise. It was in a Team game IMP scoring.Both of our Convention Cards inticate that over opponents double jump shifts are weak Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 25, 2010 Report Share Posted October 25, 2010 It was in a Team game IMP scoring. That makes it harder. I'm not prepared right now to figure out how to score it - lack of sleep. Both of our Convention Cards indicate that over opponents double jump shifts are weak IOW, you checked the box. Fair enough. Did they look at your card? What does "with some points" mean? As Robin suggests, this doesn't sound like "weak", it sounds like something more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 25, 2010 Report Share Posted October 25, 2010 That makes it harder. I'm not prepared right now to figure out how to score it - lack of sleep.(Multi-quote is still a mystery to me :( ) If, using "director's error" Law82C, we decide the right ruling is opener scores 3D-3 and the other side scores 3DX-3 then we IMP these scores against the result at the other table. If it is not knockout teams, the two teams keep their (non-balancing) scores. If it is knockout then each team scores the average of the two scores, Law 86B. For example if the score at the other table was 3NT= the other way, and none was vulnerable, then the score for opener's side is -150+400 = 6IMP, the other side score +500-400 = 3IMP. In knockout teams, this becomes opener's side 1.5IMP, other side -1.5IMP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted October 25, 2010 Report Share Posted October 25, 2010 It also depends on the jurisdiction which I do not know. Let us assume it is a Law 12C1C jurisdiction. I doubt we would consider it certain one way or another as to whether the player would double 3D. Thus a more likely ruling under Law 82C might be: For opening side:.. 30% of 3D* -3+ 70% of 3D -3 For other side:.. 70% of 3D* -3+ 30% of 3D -3 This gives each side the benefit of the doubt since they are treated as non-offending for this purpose. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 It also depends on the jurisdiction which I do not know.]The thread title says ACBL. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 Sorry: you are right. Once you have hit 'Reply' then the thread title is still there but the secondary comment [which contained 'ACBL'] is not. In a Law 12C1E jurisdiction then that ruling is certainly impossible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.