blackshoe Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 Last Tuesday was a Swiss Teams event at the club. Playing North, on the first board of the first match (21, game all), I dealt and opened 1♦ on a 5-4 diamond-club 14 count. LHO bid 2♦. Partner passed. RHO put 2♥ down, and without taking her hand off the bidding cards asked "can I change this?" I said "Call the Director", which she did. The TD arrived, said she could correct an inadvertant bid, she put down 4♥. TD then said something to the effect that she was not allowed to change her mind (about the 2♥ bid). 4♥ was passed out. Making. At the end of the hand, she said "it was a change of mind". I called for a TD. Different one. Explained the situation. He said "Hm" and walked away - I presumed to consult. During the session, I asked a couple of times if we were going to get a ruling, got no answer. At the end of the session, I asked again. At this time, the original TD, who'd responded to the first call, was entering scores. The other one was running around picking up boards and such. #1 called to #2, they came together to consult. It turned out we were tied for second place. We had lost this match (the only one we'd lost) by 9 IMPs, 8 of them on this board. Finally, Director #2 said "give them 1 more VP. That'll break the tie". That put us 4 VPs behind the first place team. I don't think we'd have gained that many VPs on a different ruling, but I could be wrong. Recap of the bidding: W.....N.....E.....S-.....1♦....2♦....P2 4♥..All Pass. I would have competed with 3♣ over 2♥. NS at the other table got to 5♣, down 1, though I don't know how the bidding went. The final ruling was not contested. Comments? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted October 22, 2010 Report Share Posted October 22, 2010 Good g*d. Do these TDs know that giving rulings is part of the job? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 22, 2010 Author Report Share Posted October 22, 2010 Yes. In theory, anyway. :blink: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.