Jump to content

X Y Zee interference


jillybean

Recommended Posts

2 is 's

So if it's off, what do you bid and what is 2 here?

Pretty odd... Isn't double of 1 supposed to be based on shortness in clubs?

 

Anyway, I think when opponents interfere, you need more ways to compete (at the cost of less ways to invite). So 2 will be natural (and non-forcing) for me. For this hand, 4 seems more straightforward. In fact, even without interference (i.e. XYZ is available), I'd probably still bid a direct 4.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Pretty odd... Isn't double of 1 supposed to be based on shortness in clubs?

 

What do you bid over 1 with xx,xx,Kxx,AKQxxx ?

Pass... what else??

 

You don't / shouldn't double just to show you have an opening hand. Perhaps this post belongs to B/I.

Yes, sorry you're right. Ignore that post.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I actually doubled here and my partner left it in for -3 and 12imps.

If you have agreement that X here shows stiff club and 6th spade and good hand, then it is a perfect action.

Is this intended as helpful, funny or just sarcastic? Obviously it’s not a perfect auction, I wouldn’t have bothered asking about it if I thought it was.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is this intended as helpful, funny or just sarcastic? Obviously it’s not a perfect auction, I wouldn’t have bothered asking about it if I thought it was.

Sorry, of course it was a joke. What I meant to say is that, double is a much less descriptive bid than 4, although it probably worked better for this particular layout. Also note that the good result you had might be more of a function of opponent's silly bidding, but that is not something based on which you want to judge the success of certain bids.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 is 's

So if it's off, what do you bid and what is 2 here?

Pretty odd... Isn't double of 1 supposed to be based on shortness in clubs?

 

What do you bid over 1 with xx,xx,Kxx,AKQxxx ?

A natural 2C. If I am not playing this as natural, this is a clear pass and hope to compete later.

 

On your hand I would bid 3S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...