Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Wrong section.  100% forcing pass situation if in the right section.  If playing with a beginner/intermediate it's a guess and I'd prolly bid 5.  If partner later explained why he doubled for the right reasons, he gets a gold star (and an apology if I bid 5.)

LOL, I was thinking the same thing. How in the world did this morph into a FP discussion in the BI's?

Speaking of, how does one decide whether to post in B/I vs A/E? I'm never sure where to post my questions, so I usually default to B/I just because.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wrong section.  100% forcing pass situation if in the right section.  If playing with a beginner/intermediate it's a guess and I'd prolly bid 5.  If partner later explained why he doubled for the right reasons, he gets a gold star (and an apology if I bid 5.)

LOL, I was thinking the same thing. How in the world did this morph into a FP discussion in the BI's?

Speaking of, how does one decide whether to post in B/I vs A/E? I'm never sure where to post my questions, so I usually default to B/I just because.

I don't, so I post on interesting bridge hands instead lol.

 

It notmally works this way: you post in the B/I when you want to learn from other's explanations and help others with a constructive discussion. You post in A/E when you want insults, big egos, laugh a others, etc.

 

This is jsut the exception that confirms the rule <_<

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=d=w&v=b&s=skqhakjt4dkqcx]133|100|Scoring: IMP

(P)-P-(3)-4

(5)-X-(P)-??[/hv]

 

Do you agree with 4 hearts? What do you bid this time?

No, I call director. Maybe the other 3 players have 14 cards each.

the OP made one minor error and you are calling the director? the hand is really

 

KQ

AKJT4

KQ

1

 

You might want to check with Hanp for an interpretation :blink:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=d=w&v=b&s=skqhakjt4dkqcx]133|100|Scoring: IMP

(P)-P-(3)-4

(5)-X-(P)-??[/hv]

 

Do you agree with 4 hearts? What do you bid this time?

yes 4 is right as partner needs 2 aces to make 6 and the 5 level is enough of a risk to warrant bypassing Blackwood(i.e. partner has no aces).

 

over 5X I think you can assume partner has an ace so 5is safe. If you elect to pass you need to set 5 for 800 at least 50% of the time which looks hard as I think 500 if much more likely. So bid 5

Link to comment
Share on other sites

over 5X I think you can assume partner has an ace so 5is safe. If you elect to pass you need to set 5 for 800 at least 50% of the time which looks hard as I think 500 if much more likely. So bid 5

Why is 5 safe if partner has an ace? Don't you lose 2 tricks in side suits plus Q?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi,

 

#1 given that p is a passed hand, 4H is ok, otherwise I would go via X

#2 Now I pass

 

With kind regards

Marlowe

I disagree on the 2nd half of #1. Even if partner is unpassed hand, I see no alternative call to 4.

 

If I double first, I may not be well placed. Say partner bids 3. Now 4 by me doesn't show 8-card suit, instead it shows a strong flexible hand, typical shapes are 3541 / 3532 / 3631 etc.

 

I know 4 bid risks missing slam on some hands, but at least I'd get the strain right.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...