PrecisionL Posted September 26, 2010 Report Share Posted September 26, 2010 (edited) The Bridge World, September 2010, has eight pages of WHAT'S NEW IN BRIDGE: TRANSFERS EVERYWHERE. Transfer Advances After a Preempt - Probably NOT ACBL legal. Edited: Transfers allowed after opening pre-empt of 2♦ or higher. #7. [but not after a Precision 2♣ or 2♦ opening]. Transfer Doubles [with the Raptor 1NT Overcall] - Probably ACBL legal. Nonpromissory Transfers [after opening NT] - Probably NOT ACBL legal? Both Sides Now - [transfers proposed when partner opens or overcalls 1M and the next hand X or bids 1♠]. [Transfers allowed over the X, but questionable over a suit / NT overcall by the opponent] We know that Transfer Advances are legal after overcalling opponent's opening bid and also that transfers are legal if the opponent's make a conventional bid (like a takeout double) [over our opening / overcall]. The QUESTION: If the opponent's make a normal suit overcall of our 1 of a suit opening bid, are transfers allowed by responder? Note that the ACBl General Convention Chart says: ALLOWED ** Unless specifically allowed, methods are disallowed ** Thus, I conclude such other transfers are NOT allowed. Comments? Edited September 27, 2010 by PrecisionL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 26, 2010 Report Share Posted September 26, 2010 The QUESTION: If the opponent's make a normal suit overcall of our 1 of a suit opening bid, are transfers allowed by responder? [snip] Comments? I'd say No, they're not allowed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
awm Posted September 27, 2010 Report Share Posted September 27, 2010 I don't really get this post. ACBL general chart allows all responses to 1NT openings and to preempts, subject to some pretty loose restrictions on the openings (i.e. preempts guarantee five card suit). So I don't get the claim that transfers after preempts and non-promissory transfers after 1NT are "probably not allowed." Next you state that transfers are allowed after 1♥-(1♠) or 1M-(X). This doesn't seem totally clear-cut to me, but I agree that in practice they are allowed. However, if transfers are allowed after 1♥-(1♠) then they should be allowed after all sequences where we open and opponents overcall. There is absolutely not justification for them being allowed after 1♥-(1♠) and not after 1♦-(2♣) for example. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dake50 Posted September 27, 2010 Report Share Posted September 27, 2010 "8. Numbers 4 through 10 under RESPONSES AND REBIDS above APPLY TO BOTH PAIRS." --GCC Does 'both pairs' mean the trivial N-S and E-W? Or does it mean the overcalling side AND the opening side? The advancer to OC, T/Odbl and the responder to opening bid? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted September 27, 2010 Report Share Posted September 27, 2010 The Bridge World, September 2010, has eight pages of WHAT'S NEW IN BRIDGE: TRANSFERS EVERYWHERE. Transfer Advances After a Preempt - Probably NOT ACBL legal. Edited: Transfers allowed after opening pre-empt of 2♦ or higher. #7. [but not after a Precision 2♣ or 2♦ opening].Why not?ARTIFICIAL AND CONVENTIONAL CALLS after ... opening bids of two clubs or higher.And Conventional, 7c, means I can use transfers after they bid 2C, if that's what you meant. Transfer Doubles [with the Raptor 1NT Overcall] - Probably ACBL legal.Definitely legal:2.CONVENTIONAL DOUBLES AND REDOUBLES and responses (including free bids) thereto.3. NOTRUMP OVERCALL for either a) two-suit takeout showing at least 5–4 distribution and at least one known suitNow, the transfer overcalls, if they come into it, are not legal. But the double and NT are fine. Nonpromissory Transfers [after opening NT] - Probably NOT ACBL legal?Definitely legal:ALL CALLS AFTER A NATURAL NOTRUMP opening bid or directovercall - assuming you're not playing an "illegal" NT opener. In fact, that's how I would rule 1NT-2D; 2H-3D "forget transfer" - at least for the ladies who were known to use it in my old club, so I knew it was not the first time - "You're playing 2D as hearts or diamonds - I've seen you two do this before. That's legal, but you have to Alert, rather than Announce, and you have to explain it when asked. Now, about the MI..." Both Sides Now - [transfers proposed when partner opens or overcalls 1M and the next hand X or bids 1♠]. [Transfers allowed over the X, but questionable over a suit / NT overcall by the opponent]Still not sure what this means, so I don't know if it's legal. Over X, of course, fine; after NT overcall, fine (provided you do promise one suit with calls of 2D or higher); after 1H-1S, I think you're out of luck. We know that Transfer Advances are legal after overcalling opponent's opening bid and also that transfers are legal if the opponent's make a conventional bid (like a takeout double) [over our opening / overcall]. The QUESTION: If the opponent's make a normal suit overcall of our 1 of a suit opening bid, are transfers allowed by responder? Comments?No, unless you can get a specific exemption (say after Precision 1C-overcall). They are allowed without defence requirements, with or without an overcall, on the Mid-Chart under "constructive responses". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Edited: Transfers allowed after opening pre-empt of 2♦ or higher. #7. [but not after a Precision 2♣ or 2♦ opening]. Why on earth would anyone ban transfers after a precision 2C opener? It is alot simpler than learning a relay structure and works. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.