nige1 Posted September 20, 2010 Report Share Posted September 20, 2010 North, the dealer opens 1♠.East bids 1♥. If you ask, East will tell you that he did not see the 1♠ opener. You are called to the table. What exactly do you say (and to whom)?[You may assume that East/West play both a 1♥ opening bid and a 2♥ overcall of 1♠ as natural.] Thank you JAllerton, for opening another can of worms. I doubt that this forum will ever arrive at a consensus as to how the director should deal with an insufficient bid. It is frightening when we realise that we're not discussing how the director should rule -- even in a basic case -- we are simply discussing what he should do when he comes to the table! I have long argued that such protocols should be part of the law-book itself. Some legal points raised (e.g. by Gnasher) apply to illegal calls in general and are just as important to players as to directors because they can give a secretary-bird player a decisive edge. One such point, hardly discussed, is what options either side is allowed to vary their agreements after such an infraction. A simple example: You've agreed doubles of openers up to 4♠ are take-out . Suppose LHO opens 4♥ out of turn. After the director tells him his options, your partner accepts the call and doubles. Simple Bridge logic means this is penalty. Is your normal agreement relevant here? If it would still apply, are you allowed to depart from it? May you base this "change" on common sense without discussion or consultation? May you arrive at this "change" after previous discussion with partner? Does it make a difference whether your local legislature has taken the law-option that bans agreements contingent on an infraction? Arguably, the meaning of this double is obvious. But what about devising with partner a set of conventional meanings for other calls, depending on whether an illegal call is accepted?IMO: options after an illegal call should be removed. The law should give a player no choice over what penalty/redress to accept (whether as offender or non-offender) . IMO the law should be: an illegal call is unauthorised information to the offender's partner. It is cancelled and the offending side must pass throughout. Simple! But there have been many other equally sensible suggestions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted September 22, 2010 Report Share Posted September 22, 2010 IMO the law should be: an illegal call is unauthorised information to the offender's partner. It is cancelled and the offending side must pass throughout. Simple! But there have been many other equally sensible suggestions.I certainly agree with you that an insufficient bidder should have to make the last call for his side. On the other hand, however, a call out of turn often results in no damage; so there is no good reason to reject "rectification" in all cases. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 22, 2010 Report Share Posted September 22, 2010 This reminds me of the suggested agreement over insufficient bids in a competitive auction that whatever double normally means, a double of an uncorrected bid is for takeout, a double of the corrected one is for penalties. ie 1♣-P-1♠-1♥-X is for takeout, 1♣-P-1♠-1♥ corrected to 2♥-X is pens. Is it legal to do this (EBU land if it matters) and is the inference that you don't have a takeout double type hand if you ask for the bid to be corrected authorised ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted September 22, 2010 Report Share Posted September 22, 2010 Is it legal to do this (EBU land if it matters) and is the inference that you don't have a takeout double type hand if you ask for the bid to be corrected authorised ? It is legal, and the inference is authorised, the same as any negative inference in your bidding system. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 23, 2010 Report Share Posted September 23, 2010 This reminds me of the suggested agreement over insufficient bids in a competitive auction that whatever double normally means, a double of an uncorrected bid is for takeout, a double of the corrected one is for penalties. ie 1♣-P-1♠-1♥-X is for takeout, 1♣-P-1♠-1♥ corrected to 2♥-X is pens. Is it legal to do this (EBU land if it matters) and is the inference that you don't have a takeout double type hand if you ask for the bid to be corrected authorised ?It does matter. It is legal in the EBU: the legality is not entirely clear in all jurisdictions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.