Jump to content

Wrong alert without screen


cRi cRi

Recommended Posts

[hv=d=n&v=n&n=sakj5432hk2da5ck2&w=shaq765dq432c10987&e=sq6hj1098dj98cqj65&s=s10987h43dk1076ca43]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

 

Playing without screen the bidding goes :

 

2 [strong] Pass 2 2

X [here the dbl is alerted by south as take out] Pass 3nt pass

4 pass 5 Pass

5 pass 6 all pass .

 

just made, the director is calle dand explained everything ... what should he do ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Assuming North thought his double showed spades and a double showing spades was not alertable, then North has unauthorised information that suggests 4 over passing 3NT.

 

The TD will need to consult to determine if there are logical alternatives to 4. If Pass is a logical alternative then possible outcomes are 3NT+2 and 3NT+3 and the TD needs to award one or the other or a weighting of the two, depending on whether Law 12C1c is applicable.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It doesn't seem to me that Pass is an LA. The double presumably promised a 5-card suit, and he has 7; who wouldn't think that's worth bidding again, even with those sucky spot cards?

 

The only reason that hand was even worth the strong opening is because of that 7-card suit. But responder is probably expecting opener to have full values; he'd bid 3NT with just an ace. The North hand isn't strong enough for that; there are two Kx suits, and there's no reason to expect partner to provide stoppers in both of them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The North hand isn't strong enough for that; there are two Kx suits, and there's no reason to expect partner to provide stoppers in both of them.

hmmm, is Kx not a stopper by itself ??

 

I'm with Robin. There are too many "if"s as to be able to give a straight ruling.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The North hand isn't strong enough for that; there are two Kx suits, and there's no reason to expect partner to provide stoppers in both of them.

hmmm, is Kx not a stopper by itself ??

Not when the lead is going through it.

 

That hand would be fine as declarer in NT, but it's very risky to have it as dummy in this auction.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...