Phil Posted June 4, 2010 Report Share Posted June 4, 2010 NT Contract T3. Declarer leads the ♣9, LHO plays the ♠9, dummy and RHO follow. T4. Declarer leads the ♣6, LHO plays the ♥10, and instantly realizes he has the ♣10. Do I rule: 1. Two penalty cards and no revoke? 2. Established revoke on the prior trick and the ♥10 is a penalty card? 3. Something else. Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 4, 2010 Report Share Posted June 4, 2010 T4 first: LHO has revoked, and realized it before the revoke was established. He must correct it, replacing the ♥10 with the ♣10. ♥10 becomes a major penalty card. Now, T3. This revoke has been established, so cannot be corrected. Penalty: 1 trick to the declaring side. Law 64C (regarding score adjustment if the 1 trick penalty is inadequate compensation) may apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil Posted June 6, 2010 Author Report Share Posted June 6, 2010 I think where I got confused is that a played can immediately correct a revoke during the same trick. The fact that they didn't follow suit on the prior trick appears to make a difference. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted June 6, 2010 Report Share Posted June 6, 2010 Where I got confused was when declarer floated the nine after seeing LHO show out, and remained on lead. Was the ten the highest remaining club at that point? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil Posted June 6, 2010 Author Report Share Posted June 6, 2010 Where I got confused was when declarer floated the nine after seeing LHO show out, and remained on lead. Was the ten the highest remaining club at that point? It was a NT contract and he was just establishing the suit. When the 9 won, there was a mixture of doubt and confusion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 6, 2010 Report Share Posted June 6, 2010 I'm not sure what difference the revoke on T3 makes, except that it was established when LHO played the ♥10 to trick 4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peachy Posted June 6, 2010 Report Share Posted June 6, 2010 T3 - Revoke is established [the player has played or led to the next trick]T4 - Revoke not established [the player has not played or led to the next trick]I can't blame you for the confusion, it happens to everybody at one time or another :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 7, 2010 Report Share Posted June 7, 2010 Note that if the second revoke had been established, there would be no transfer of tricks due to that one (Law 64B2), but Law 64C would still apply, which could result in an adjusted score. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
relpar Posted June 9, 2010 Report Share Posted June 9, 2010 Am I missing something here? It seems to me that the revoke happened on Trick 3 and the offending side has played to the Trick 4. Therefore the revoke has been established. Let us wait until the end of the hand to assess the penalty. Certainly one trick - but may be more Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted June 9, 2010 Report Share Posted June 9, 2010 I think you are missing the revoke on T4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted June 10, 2010 Report Share Posted June 10, 2010 I think you are missing the revoke on T4.I think blackshoe gave a very precise answer in the first comment to OP.(The revoke in T4 is not established, must be corrected, and the ♥10 becomes a major penalty card. One trick transferred for the T3 revoke, subject to possible further tricks transferred under Law 64C) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.