Jump to content

Calling the TD when you are not damaged


WellSpyder

Recommended Posts

From an interminable thread on the Appeals forum, which I have no desire to make even longer:

 

Now, the auction 1-1-3-4-6 is certainly an unusual action which will attract the attention of the police. True, it will almost always attract such attention only if 6 makes (a vigilant North or South should bring the matter to the attention of the police even if 6 is doubled and down three, but not all bridge players are so public-spirited).

 

I just wondered whether TDs would agree with the description of such players as "public-spirited"?

 

I seem to recall asking about what seems to me an analagous situation on a predecessor forum. The situation was that opponents were playing Precision and one opened 2, showing a 3-suited hand with short s and c11-15 points. His partner thought for a long time and then bid 3. When I play Precision this bid ends the auction unless opponents bid - it simply says this is where I judge we should play given your hand. Opponents were a married couple who I guess have played Precision together more or less since it was invented and I'm sure they play it pretty much the same way. Nevertheless, opener decided that his hand was the exception to the rule and raised to 4. The result was that the contract went 2 down rather than 1 down, giving us a better score than if opener had simply passed.

 

I was nevertheless somewhat incensed by what looked to me like particularly blatant use of UI, and I wondered whether it would be considered acceptable to call the TD when the only possible adjustment would be a PP for the opponents rather than an adjusted score for us. In the end I did not - it was only a county club night with a playing TD, and although TD calls are not particularly uncommon and are well dealt with it still seemed a bit unfair on the TD when we weren't damaged anayway.

 

If I recall the comments I received then, the general feeling was that it would not be considered appropriate to call the TD just to suggest a PP for opponents - even though that might at least lead to this pair being a bit more careful about using UI in future (something which I at least feel they do rather regularly...)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

We don't have recorder forms in England, you can always talk to the TD later (but in this sort of case a non-playing TD might ask why you didn't call him at the time).

 

I wouldn't call a playing TD for this sort of case - their time is too valuable.

 

If you call a non-playing TD, just tell him the auction and the (alleged) UI and say you don't think you need an adjustment. If necessary, add that you just wanted to draw the attention of the TD to the auction. If the TD does not understand what you are on about, let the matter rest. Now, you can comfortably talk to the TD away from the table later.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree with Robin.

 

If this player is really blatantly using UI in this case, the only way to make sure he doesn't continue to do it in other cases is to see he gets penalized — and the only way to do that is to inform the TD what happened. Note that I said inform, not accuse. Later, if the TD does nothing, you can point out that although you didn't feel there was damage, you did feel there was illegal use of UI. If the TD still does nothing, well, at least you tried.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not only do I not like the idea of talking to the TD afterwards instead of at the table, it seems to get the wrong effect. If you call the TD, tell him the facts, make no accusation, the opponents may get the idea themselves that using UI has its dangers.

 

... it would not be considered appropriate to call the TD just to suggest a PP for opponents ...

No, that is not appropriate. You remind me of soccer players attempting to get an opponent booked, which I believe to be unsportsmanlike conduct. You call the TD, tell him the facts, and let him do what he wishes. Probably best will be if he educates your opponents about UI - that you should consider "a result".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I once had a 4243 14 count and my partner, who opened a strong club, relayed out my distribution and before the last round of bidding explained our sequence to the inquisitive opps saying that I was 2434 and bid 6H. Naturally I passed and after the board explained to my partner why I didn't bid 6N which would have made easily. Opps said 'huh? we would never call the TD on you, of course you should bid 6N'. I know this is not really on topic, just wanted to say that often opps do not even call the TD when they are damaged, it would take someone from another galaxy to do it when not damaged.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...