peachy Posted May 6, 2010 Report Share Posted May 6, 2010 PeterAlan's post in another thread presents a case where declarer calls from dummy a card that is not in dummy. I started a new thread on this, not sure if in the right forum though; see below. The answer seems clear to me, by the Law 46B which PeterAlan quoted, but perhaps there is more to it than meets the eye: " ...the call is void and declarer may designate any legal card from dummy. " In future edition of the laws, the word should be changed to "designates" or "must designate" instead of "may designate". Afterall, the game must go on, declarer does not have the option of "not designating" a card from dummy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted May 6, 2010 Report Share Posted May 6, 2010 In future edition of the laws, the word should be changed to "designates" or "must designate" instead of "may designate". We have enough trouble getting the wording of laws changed when it matters - let's not bother when it makes no difference at all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jdonn Posted May 6, 2010 Report Share Posted May 6, 2010 I think "may" designate is better since the alternative is for declarer to think longer, which should be allowed. "Must" designate makes it sound like declarer must immediately change his call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted May 6, 2010 Report Share Posted May 6, 2010 I don't think there's a problem. Other Laws specify that when it's dummy's turn to play that declarer must designate a card. Voiding his original designation doesn't change that. I think the purpose of 46B is simply to make it clear that he can designate ANY legal card, his original designation doesn't create any restrictions. For instance, if he calls "heart 6", but there is no such card in dummy, he's not required to play another heart or another 6 (one could certainly imagine the Laws having been written to require one of these). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 It seems to me that if declarer calls a card from dummy, and that card is not in dummy ("that card" including cards which would be required to be played by Law 46) then the call is void - which means there has been no call for a card from dummy. If the lead is actually in declarer's hand, I would rule he must lead from his hand. I don't see this as a big problem. :ph34r: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrdct Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 What happens if the hand sitting over dummy plays a card based on what was called from dummy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 What happens if the hand sitting over dummy plays a card based on what was called from dummy? If according to Law 46B4 the call of a card from dummy is void then the play from the next player is a lead out of turn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrdct Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 But they weren't leading it, they we just trying to follow suit after declarer called out the name of that suit from dummy. What about Law 47E: A lead out of turn may be retracted without penalty if the leader was mistakenly informed by an opponent that it was his turn to lead (LHO should not accept the lead). In this case you could argue that by calling for a card from dummy that doesn't exist, the next hand in turn was mistakenly informed, etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 If it is properly dummy's turn, and declarer calls for a non-existent card, the designation is void. If declarer's RHO has already played to the trick when the error is discovered, he gets to pick up his played card and put it back in his hand (Law 47D). He is not deemed to have led out of turn. Laws 16D (regarding UI) and 62C2 (regarding a third card played to the trick) may apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 If it is properly dummy's turn, and declarer calls for a non-existent card, the designation is void. If declarer's RHO has already played to the trick when the error is discovered, he gets to pick up his played card and put it back in his hand (Law 47D). He is not deemed to have led out of turn. Laws 16D (regarding UI) and 62C2 (regarding a third card played to the trick) may apply. Sorry, but as the call of a card from dummy is void no play from dummy has occurred. Consequently no play is changed and Law 47D does not apply. RHO has simply played a card prematurely, and as no other card has yet been played to that trick this premature play is a lead out of turn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jdonn Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 But they weren't leading it, they we just trying to follow suit after declarer called out the name of that suit from dummy. What about Law 47E: A lead out of turn may be retracted without penalty if the leader was mistakenly informed by an opponent that it was his turn to lead (LHO should not accept the lead). In this case you could argue that by calling for a card from dummy that doesn't exist, the next hand in turn was mistakenly informed, etc. I agree completely. On that basis I disagree with blackshoe that UI laws could apply due to the phrase "without penalty" (although I'm reading the version of the laws on the ACBL website and it says "without further rectification", which I interpret the same way.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 A card is played from dummy by a combination of two actions. First, declarer calls for a card in dummy. Second, dummy picks up that card and moves it into the played position. If neither of these two has occurred and RHO plays he is getting no sympathy from me: he has played/led out of turn in a very silly way. It is different if declarer calls for a non-existent card and dummy puts some card in the played position: now it is a card mistakenly moved by dummy, and RHO [for whom I now have a tad of sympathy] may retract his card. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jdonn Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 A card is played from dummy by a combination of two actions. First, declarer calls for a card in dummy. Second, dummy picks up that card and moves it into the played position. If neither of these two has occurred and RHO plays he is getting no sympathy from me: he has played/led out of turn in a very silly way. It is different if declarer calls for a non-existent card and dummy puts some card in the played position: now it is a card mistakenly moved by dummy, and RHO [for whom I now have a tad of sympathy] may retract his card. What's the difference in either case whether or not you have sympathy for the player? He can either take back his card or can't, based on the laws. Also I don't think either of those situations is the one that happened. The first of those two auctions happened but not the second. You mentioned either both or neither. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted May 7, 2010 Report Share Posted May 7, 2010 I just noticed that 45B says that dummy "picks up the card and faces it on the table". I wonder how many people consistently "pick up" the card, rather than simply sliding it around on the table. If it's singleton, it's very common for dummy to just touch it to indicate that he's playing it. But regardless, dummy is supposed to do something mechanical to indicate that the designated card has been played. And the next player should be paying sufficient attention to notice that declarer called a nonexistent card. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 8, 2010 Report Share Posted May 8, 2010 A card is played from dummy by a combination of two actions. First, declarer calls for a card in dummy. Second, dummy picks up that card and moves it into the played position. If neither of these two has occurred and RHO plays he is getting no sympathy from me: he has played/led out of turn in a very silly way. It is different if declarer calls for a non-existent card and dummy puts some card in the played position: now it is a card mistakenly moved by dummy, and RHO [for whom I now have a tad of sympathy] may retract his card.Law 45B: Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself. Technically this says that once declarer has named the card it is played. Dummy's action of picking up the card etc. is not part of the play, it is subsequent to the play. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 8, 2010 Report Share Posted May 8, 2010 A card is played from dummy by a combination of two actions. First, declarer calls for a card in dummy. Second, dummy picks up that card and moves it into the played position. If neither of these two has occurred and RHO plays he is getting no sympathy from me: he has played/led out of turn in a very silly way. Law 45B says, in part Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table.The first clause of this sentence specifies how the card is played. The second specifies dummy's subsequent required action. So if declarer names a card, that card is played, and it is now dummy's LHO's turn to play, whether dummy has completed his required moving of the card or not. That, at least, is how I've always read this law. I suppose if the defender doesn't immediately recognize that declarer called for a card that isn't in dummy, he's "paying insufficient attention to the game" (Law 74), but is that sufficient to consider him an offender here? He has not, afaics, in any way led out of turn. He has not led at all. He has played, in his turn as far as he can see, to the current trick. If he and I are both wrong, and in fact it wasn't in his turn just because the card declarer called for isn't in dummy, then he still hasn't led out of turn. His card would be "a card prematurely exposed (but not led)" (Law 50). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 8, 2010 Report Share Posted May 8, 2010 A card is played from dummy by a combination of two actions. First, declarer calls for a card in dummy. Second, dummy picks up that card and moves it into the played position. If neither of these two has occurred and RHO plays he is getting no sympathy from me: he has played/led out of turn in a very silly way. Law 45B says, in part Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table.The first clause of this sentence specifies how the card is played. The second specifies dummy's subsequent required action. So if declarer names a card, that card is played, and it is now dummy's LHO's turn to play, whether dummy has completed his required moving of the card or not. That, at least, is how I've always read this law. I suppose if the defender doesn't immediately recognize that declarer called for a card that isn't in dummy, he's "paying insufficient attention to the game" (Law 74), but is that sufficient to consider him an offender here? He has not, afaics, in any way led out of turn. He has not led at all. He has played, in his turn as far as he can see, to the current trick. If he and I are both wrong, and in fact it wasn't in his turn just because the card declarer called for isn't in dummy, then he still hasn't led out of turn. His card would be "a card prematurely exposed (but not led)" (Law 50). All this is very fine except that law 46B4 explicitly states: If declarer calls a card that is not in dummy the call is void I cannot read this to mean anything else than no card has been played from dummy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 8, 2010 Report Share Posted May 8, 2010 Well, let's see now. Is calling for a card that is not in dummy an infraction of law? I think so. Has declarer done that? Yep. Has this call led an opponent down the garden path? Yep. So why isn't this one of those cases David dislikes so much, where we're going after the NOS instead of the OS? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 9, 2010 Report Share Posted May 9, 2010 Well, let's see now. Is calling for a card that is not in dummy an infraction of law? I think so. Has declarer done that? Yep. Has this call led an opponent down the garden path? Yep. So why isn't this one of those cases David dislikes so much, where we're going after the NOS instead of the OS?NOS?If calling a card that is not in dummy is an infraction of law then paying insufficient attention to the game so that this fact is not detected certainly is. (Law 74B1) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 9, 2010 Report Share Posted May 9, 2010 Come on, Sven. The one has nothing to do with the other, and you know it. I asked earlier if paying insufficient attention was sufficient to consider south an offender. I presume your answer is yes. Then we have two infractions, and we're in that wonderfully murky territory that the laws deal with so well. B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 9, 2010 Report Share Posted May 9, 2010 Come on, Sven. The one has nothing to do with the other, and you know it. I asked earlier if paying insufficient attention was sufficient to consider south an offender. I presume your answer is yes. Then we have two infractions, and we're in that wonderfully murky territory that the laws deal with so well. B)Of course we have two . . . Irregularities, only one of which I will term infractions. Let me handle them in sequence: Declarer calls a card from dummy, only that none of the cards available in dummy can match his call. This is an irregularity that is handled under law 46B4, and the ruling shall be that the call is void, (i.e. not made). Declarer is now free to call a different card from dummy, or - if he becomes aware of his mistake regarding which hand has the lead - he is forced to lead from the correct hand. However, before he manages to lead an existing card his RHO leads to the trick in the belief that he is just playing to the trick after declarer's (non-existing) "lead" from dummy. He is of course wrong because no card has been led (see above). This infraction is handled (by the Director) under law 49 unless Law 47F1 (leading to Law 53) is chosen by Declarer. Whatever the reason for the infraction committed by RHO, he may for instance have paid insufficient attention, he is an offending side in this situation. Only on one condition can he be allowed to retract the card incorrectly led by him without any rectification; if he was incorrectly informed by an opponent that is was his turn to play (Law 47E1). Of course that does not apply here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 9, 2010 Report Share Posted May 9, 2010 This is an irregularity that is handled under law 46B4, and the ruling shall be that the call is void, (i.e. not made). My understanding of the meaning of "void" is that it is "not valid", not "not made". Declarer has called for a card. Next player has followed suit. Declarer's call has been found to be not valid, so he must change it. I do not see why the next player should not be allowed to change his play as well (Law 47D). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted May 9, 2010 Report Share Posted May 9, 2010 Law 45B: Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself.The wording of the Law you quote makes it completely clear that there is a pair of actions involved in playing a card. B) What's the difference in either case whether or not you have sympathy for the player? He can either take back his card or can't, based on the laws.I do not know. When I comment I have no sympathy, all I actually mean is that I have no sympathy. Also I don't think either of those situations is the one that happened. The first of those two auctions happened but not the second. You mentioned either both or neither.Neither action happened. He did not call for a card that was in dummy, and the card he called for was not moved to the played position. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 10, 2010 Report Share Posted May 10, 2010 Law 45B: Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself.The wording of the Law you quote makes it completely clear that there is a pair of actions involved in playing a card. So in this scenario:Declarer calls a card from Dummy, but Dummy takes no immediate action, RHO, Declarer and LHO follow suit, and all four players including dummy turn their affected cards face down.Your assertion is that no card was actually led from Dummy? I have seen such scenario occur many times and never had any problem with it. Pretty often the called card was for instance already positioned by itself among Dummy's cards so there seemed no real need for Dummy to reposition it in order to make it clear that it was played. To me it is completely clear that although the law specifies a pair of actions involved in playing a card the play is legally completed already with the first action, the second action is just supplementary. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dburn Posted May 10, 2010 Report Share Posted May 10, 2010 Law 45B: Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself.The wording of the Law you quote makes it completely clear that there is a pair of actions involved in playing a card.On the contrary - the wording of the Law makes it completely clear that there is only one action involved in playing a card from dummy. Declarer may name the card or may pick it up himself, but as soon as he has done one of those things the card has been played. Otherwise, the following is possible: declarer calls for the seven of diamonds (a card that is in dummy); before dummy picks up that card, dummy's LHO plays a diamond; the Director is called because dummy's LHO has played out of turn. Do you believe that this is what the Law says should be done? No, of course you don't, and nor does anyone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.