bluejak Posted April 7, 2010 Report Share Posted April 7, 2010 ♥ trumps. Dummy: ♠ KxLHO: ♠ x, ♥ xRHO ♠ AxDeclarer: ♠ Qx Easy peasy: I almost ruled without looking in the Law book! :blink: Declarer led the ♠ Q, LHO ruffed, ♠ x, ♠ x, LHO led ♠ x, Before North follows with the K, RHO wins with the ace, declarer follows small, someone points out the revoke. And you rule ... ?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted April 7, 2010 Report Share Posted April 7, 2010 Is there some new rule about a revoke at trick 12? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mbodell Posted April 7, 2010 Report Share Posted April 7, 2010 And you rule ... ?? 2 tricks for defenders? You can correct revokes on trick 12 and it is clear to win the A if partner hasn't ruffed. Or is this something where RHO can't change the card he played if dummy doesn't change the card he played? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted April 7, 2010 Report Share Posted April 7, 2010 On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board. So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his ♠ spot. RHO may not withdraw his played ♠ spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played ♠Q, wins the trick. Now the ♠A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shyams Posted April 7, 2010 Report Share Posted April 7, 2010 So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his ♠ spot. RHO may not withdraw his played ♠ spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played ♠Q, wins the trick. Now the ♠A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders.The blame for the result lies squarely with RHO for not "discarding" the ♠A on trick 12 :)!! That, dear friends, is the lesson for the day :) :) Jokes aside, I wonder if the caller should be asked if declarer was deliberately playing slowly. While it is quite probable that the position was reached in normal play at normal speeds, it is not impossible that declarer was "slow playing" to induce some kind of error by defenders; especially if defenders are much less skilled / experienced compared to declarer. Would TD never ask a reasonably competent declarer how this 2-card position was reached and why declarer did not claim/concede the right number of tricks earlier in the play? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted April 8, 2010 Author Report Share Posted April 8, 2010 Would TD never ask a reasonably competent declarer how this 2-card position was reached and why declarer did not claim/concede the right number of tricks earlier in the play?No, why should he? Players often play out hands which they should not. There is no reason for the TD to waste his time asking this which does not affect the ruling. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlall Posted April 8, 2010 Report Share Posted April 8, 2010 On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board. So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his ♠ spot. RHO may not withdraw his played ♠ spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played ♠Q, wins the trick. Now the ♠A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders. Yep seems clear Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rossoneri Posted April 13, 2010 Report Share Posted April 13, 2010 On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board. So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his ♠ spot. RHO may not withdraw his played ♠ spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played ♠Q, wins the trick. Now the ♠A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders. agreed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.