Jump to content

Easy question by phone


bluejak

Recommended Posts

trumps.

 

Dummy: Kx

LHO: x, x

RHO Ax

Declarer: Qx

 

Easy peasy: I almost ruled without looking in the Law book! :blink:

 

Declarer led the Q, LHO ruffed, x, x,

 

LHO led x, Before North follows with the K, RHO wins with the ace, declarer follows small, someone points out the revoke.

 

And you rule ... ??

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And you rule ... ??

2 tricks for defenders? You can correct revokes on trick 12 and it is clear to win the A if partner hasn't ruffed. Or is this something where RHO can't change the card he played if dummy doesn't change the card he played?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board.

 

So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his spot. RHO may not withdraw his played spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played Q, wins the trick. Now the A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his spot. RHO may not withdraw his played spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played Q, wins the trick. Now the A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders.

The blame for the result lies squarely with RHO for not "discarding" the A on trick 12 :)!! That, dear friends, is the lesson for the day :) :)

 

Jokes aside, I wonder if the caller should be asked if declarer was deliberately playing slowly. While it is quite probable that the position was reached in normal play at normal speeds, it is not impossible that declarer was "slow playing" to induce some kind of error by defenders; especially if defenders are much less skilled / experienced compared to declarer.

 

Would TD never ask a reasonably competent declarer how this 2-card position was reached and why declarer did not claim/concede the right number of tricks earlier in the play?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Would TD never ask a reasonably competent declarer how this 2-card position was reached and why declarer did not claim/concede the right number of tricks earlier in the play?

No, why should he? Players often play out hands which they should not. There is no reason for the TD to waste his time asking this which does not affect the ruling.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board.

 

So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his spot. RHO may not withdraw his played spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played Q, wins the trick. Now the A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders.

Yep seems clear

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the twelfth trick, a revoke, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board.

 

So LHO retracts his trump, which becomes a major penalty card (which of course doesn't matter), and substitutes his spot. RHO may not withdraw his played spot (Law 47), so declarer, who played Q, wins the trick. Now the A and K, and LHO's trump, get played on the last trick. There is no Law 64 rectification for the revoke. Law 64C does not apply. One trick to declarer, the other to defenders.

agreed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...