Jump to content

pass, nothing, pass, pass, ? call TD


Rev Dino

Recommended Posts

you should post this in the Laws forum. very funny and interesting situation. from my passing acquaintance with the laws I think 4th seat accepted the pass out of turn?

I am more interested in what players think about it then what book says.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you don't mind me asking, why? The laws people will most likely know the correct answer. The player people will either know the correct answer or not. Are you trying to find out what % of players know the rules?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I believe all four players must pass for there to be a passout. (Three passes end the auction only following a bid, so even if dealer passes -- so that the auction is P-nothing-P-P-P -- the auction would not end.)

 

If the director is called after the third pass -- P-nothing-P-P -- I do not know whether dealer is given the option of making a call or whether the auction is immediately rolled back to second hand. Either way, the auction does not end without second hand being given a chance to call.

 

As a player, I think second hand should be given a chance to act. It doesn't seem desirable to enforce a passout and a likely unusual result when it is a relatively simple matter to correct the irregularity and get a normal result.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

you should post this in the Laws forum. very funny and interesting situation. from my passing acquaintance with the laws I think 4th seat accepted the pass out of turn?

I am more interested in what players think about it then what book says.

This sounds like one of those dreadful table rulings, I call the TD

Link to comment
Share on other sites

well I know what a director said on this situation:

 

1NT - nothing -pass -pass

 

called and decided that secodn pass accepted first one, so it was now 1NT bidder's turn

 

he passed, but the player who had no bid said that the auction couldn't finnish without her making a bid.

 

I think there is something in the rules that say that this is true, an auciton cannot finnish with a player having not maken any bid.

 

Director should had ruled that if the second hand player wasn't happy with the 1NT contract, the 3 passes are moved back, and it is again its turn.

 

However Director in this case ruled that the offending side could not end the auction, and the 1NT opener couldn't pass and was forbidden to take that call LOL. 1NT opener bid 2 and they found their 4-4 heart fit making comfortably 140.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The third pass condoned the second. The auction continues, with dealer next to call.

 

The auction ends when:

1. all four players pass (but see Law 25).

If dealer passes, only three of the players have passed, so second-hand will still have a chance to bid.

 

The case cited by Fluffy is different:

 

2. When a call has been followed by three passes the auction does not end

if one of those passes was out of rotation, depriving a player of his right

to call at that turn. When this occurs the auction reverts to the player

who missed his turn, all subsequent passes are cancelled and the auction

proceeds normally. Law 16D applies to the cancelled calls, any player who

has passed out of rotation being an offender.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Andy, you are boring. :rolleyes: Stating some facts again, so that nobody can pronounce his opinion any more...

 

I had not known this details at the table and simply called the TD.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...