Rev Dino Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 As I said, weird auction happened at the table: pass, nothing, pass, pass. What now? I have no idea what TD should decide here. Anyone? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gwnn Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 you should post this in the Laws forum. very funny and interesting situation. from my passing acquaintance with the laws I think 4th seat accepted the pass out of turn? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev Dino Posted March 22, 2010 Author Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 you should post this in the Laws forum. very funny and interesting situation. from my passing acquaintance with the laws I think 4th seat accepted the pass out of turn?I am more interested in what players think about it then what book says. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gwnn Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 If you don't mind me asking, why? The laws people will most likely know the correct answer. The player people will either know the correct answer or not. Are you trying to find out what % of players know the rules? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 I believe all four players must pass for there to be a passout. (Three passes end the auction only following a bid, so even if dealer passes -- so that the auction is P-nothing-P-P-P -- the auction would not end.) If the director is called after the third pass -- P-nothing-P-P -- I do not know whether dealer is given the option of making a call or whether the auction is immediately rolled back to second hand. Either way, the auction does not end without second hand being given a chance to call. As a player, I think second hand should be given a chance to act. It doesn't seem desirable to enforce a passout and a likely unusual result when it is a relatively simple matter to correct the irregularity and get a normal result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 you should post this in the Laws forum. very funny and interesting situation. from my passing acquaintance with the laws I think 4th seat accepted the pass out of turn?I am more interested in what players think about it then what book says. This sounds like one of those dreadful table rulings, I call the TD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jjbrr Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 I'd call the TD. I also have no idea what the TD should decide. Alternatively, second seat should have bid and/or paid attention. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bbradley62 Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 I'd call the TD. I also have no idea what the TD should decide. Alternatively, second seat should have bid and/or paid attention. It's third and fourth seats, not second, who should be told to pay attention. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jjbrr Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 I'd call the TD. I also have no idea what the TD should decide. Alternatively, second seat should have bid and/or paid attention. It's third and fourth seats, not second, who should be told to pay attention. lol... ok. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 well I know what a director said on this situation: 1NT - nothing -pass -pass called and decided that secodn pass accepted first one, so it was now 1NT bidder's turn he passed, but the player who had no bid said that the auction couldn't finnish without her making a bid. I think there is something in the rules that say that this is true, an auciton cannot finnish with a player having not maken any bid. Director should had ruled that if the second hand player wasn't happy with the 1NT contract, the 3 passes are moved back, and it is again its turn. However Director in this case ruled that the offending side could not end the auction, and the 1NT opener couldn't pass and was forbidden to take that call LOL. 1NT opener bid 2♣ and they found their 4-4 heart fit making comfortably 140. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted March 22, 2010 Report Share Posted March 22, 2010 The third pass condoned the second. The auction continues, with dealer next to call. The auction ends when:1. all four players pass (but see Law 25).If dealer passes, only three of the players have passed, so second-hand will still have a chance to bid. The case cited by Fluffy is different: 2. When a call has been followed by three passes the auction does not endif one of those passes was out of rotation, depriving a player of his rightto call at that turn. When this occurs the auction reverts to the playerwho missed his turn, all subsequent passes are cancelled and the auctionproceeds normally. Law 16D applies to the cancelled calls, any player whohas passed out of rotation being an offender. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codo Posted March 23, 2010 Report Share Posted March 23, 2010 Andy, you are boring. :rolleyes: Stating some facts again, so that nobody can pronounce his opinion any more... I had not known this details at the table and simply called the TD. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.