Jump to content

An Alerted Bid


relpar

Recommended Posts

In a recent ACBL game the following arose: West opened 1, and North overcalled 1NT which was alerted by South. East requested an explanation which was given -10-15 points with a 4 card major and a longer minor. East then passed and before South could bid, West strongly insisted in knowing what explanation had been given to East - presumably because she did not hear it. South informed her that she would explain again when it was West's turn to bid. This was not satisfactory to West who called the Director. The Director conformed that West had a right to know the explanation that had been given even though it was not her turn to bid. Correct ruling? This issue would not have arisen if South and West were on amicable terms with each other!!! Apparently South's explanation to East was clearly spoken but West claimed not to have heard it.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think it is correct that West might need to know since it is possible that East's call needs to be alerted depending on what the North call showed. Noting that East has already made a call and will not likely be subject to any UI from West wanting a repeat of an explanation.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...