bluejak Posted January 1, 2010 Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 [hv=d=w&v=e&n=s73hq2dkqj862c932&w=st8haktd75cqjt754&e=saj42h53da94cak86&s=skq965hj98764dt3c]399|300|Scoring: MP1♣! 1♥ 2♣! 2♦2♥ P 3♣ P P P 3♥ Dbl P P P 1♣ = may be short2♣ = inverted, 10+2♥ = not alertedAsked: told shows heart strengthAfter 3♣ was passed out, East said 2♥ asked for a stopperThe TD reopened the auction and South bid 3♥ Result: 3♥ dbld /S -3, NS -500[/hv]North and South were adamant that E/W knew what they were doing and told untruths to tempt South back into the auction. Well? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted January 1, 2010 Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 Looks like misbid/misunderstanding. Surely if they "knew what they were doing", they'd find either cold vuln game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted January 1, 2010 Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 I don't understand what "untruth" was told to tempt south back into the auction. West's explanation is consistent with his bidding and cannot be deemed to tempt south back into the auction. East's correction doesn't seem like an untruth. As Tyler points out, if E/W knew what they were doing, they wouldn't have missed their vulnerable game. N/S are frustrated by turning -150 into -500, I'd warn them against accusing the opponents of nefarious acts (perhaps even suggest that an apology was in order) and initiate disciplinary action if they persisted at the table. (I would be willing to discuss the matter with them privately at a later time.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mbodell Posted January 1, 2010 Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 I don't understand the auction? West is dealer and the North hand overcalls 1♥? Should that be 1♦? The south hand bids 2♦ should that be 2♥? Or was it East that opened? That would make more sense with the auction and explanation. And if that is the case then I don't see what the problem is. E/W had a bidding mistake. There was MI or a misbid. Presumably the director at the table ruled that the E/W agreement was that 2♥ asked for a stopper and there was MI which is why the final pass was changed into a 3♥ call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted January 1, 2010 Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 (edited) What evidence did NS offer in support of their accusation? There seems to be none in the original post. Edited January 1, 2010 by gnasher Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted January 1, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 1, 2010 I don't understand the auction? West is dealer and the North hand overcalls 1♥? Should that be 1♦? The south hand bids 2♦ should that be 2♥? Or was it East that opened? That would make more sense with the auction and explanation.Very sorry. While BBO is an excellent host, and some things are better than Bridgetalk, the method for putting auctions in is much poorer and is [frankly] a pain in the behind. Assume dealer East, and assume I have not written the auction in the normal WNES format. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ant590 Posted January 2, 2010 Report Share Posted January 2, 2010 It seems to me that before the first card was lead South had full information about the agreements of EW, and chose what turned out to be a foolhardy bid. If west had forgotten to show or chosen to withhold his heart stopper, then it is only a misbid, and accusations of goading are without evidence. I'd let the table result stand (and expect an AC to keep the deposit if NS appealed). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted January 2, 2010 Report Share Posted January 2, 2010 I can't see what case NS have. EW had a misunderstanding (East thought he was asking for heart stop, West thought East was showing something in hearts and hence looking for a diamond stop and signed off; East thought they were off the heart suit). East explaine the misunderstanding at the appropriate time. South chose to go for a penalty. Score stands, and NS get a good talking to. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted January 2, 2010 Report Share Posted January 2, 2010 N/S clueless: I assume the TD reopened the auction at the request of South, who had made the last pass and was given the option. If it was North who was the mouthpiece, then it was HE who goaded their side into 3H or was trying to get South to bid 3 of either red. Neither North nor South has a 3H call. E/W, having missed 3NT through a misunderstanding, should not have to endure the rantings of the opponents too. Agree with those who believe N/S should, at the very least, be told to keep their inane opinions to themselves. Any normal N/S would have acknowledged the disclosed misunderstanding, looked at their hands, and proceeded to defend the hand. But, as stated before, I would make a crummy director. And I can't site any law number, to fall back on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 2, 2010 Report Share Posted January 2, 2010 North and South were adamant that E/W knew what they were doing and told untruths to tempt South back into the auction. IOW, NS have explicitly accused EW of cheating. Seems to me that calls for an ethics hearing. Which, I feel confident, will find that it's NS whose ethics are questionable. :unsure: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted January 3, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 3, 2010 This one just appears to be a joke in poor taste. I am not really sure what N/S alleged, so I rather made it up. But whatever it was the TD was supremely unimpressed, which seems perfectly correct to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 3, 2010 Report Share Posted January 3, 2010 Given what you originally posted, David, I'll stand by my comment. If NS didn't actually go that far, then perhaps I'd agree with the TD, too. But it's hard to get it right given wrong information. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted January 4, 2010 Report Share Posted January 4, 2010 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vigfus Posted January 10, 2010 Report Share Posted January 10, 2010 TD is perfectly right to allow reopening the bidding again. No question about that.And N/S use that oppurtunity to enter the bidding again and are punished for that.Table result sands. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
greenender Posted January 14, 2010 Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 I agree that the TD was correct to allow S to change his pass. What S failed to reflect on was the bridge logic of the situation. If E thought cue-bids were asking and W thought they were telling, then S knows that E has ♦s stopped and W doesn't. He doesn't know the ♥ position, except for the fact that E doesn't have them stopped, but he knows that E/W have near-game or better values, and that if they do have ♥s stopped, then the ♥s are over him. So, from S's perspective, either E/W have stopped because they cannot stop hearts, or they have just missed 3NT and 3♥ will be expensive. Given that N has bid ♦s and S holds ♠KQ and only ♥J, I know which I'd bet on as S without having seen the hands. Far from providing evidence of collusion, the E/W actions are entirely consistent with their different perceptions of the meaning of cuebids, as disclosed to N/S. N/S should get a life. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.