kgr Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Is there any difference in rules for wrong bids behind screens.This is what happened at same side of the screen:(1D)-1S I first had not noticed the 1D bid, but before the tray was moved, I saw it and told my RHO. I asked him if I could change my bid and he allowed it. But what if he said we will ask the TD, would he have allowed it?Any difference if it would have started with an insufficient bid, like: (1NT)-1S Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Screen regulations vary with different competitions and organisers. The latest WBF General Conditions of Contest 2009 have26.4 Modification of Rectifications when screens are in use.a.) An irregularity passed through the screen is subject to the normal laws, with the following provisions:i) an inadmissible call ‐ see Law 35 ‐ must be correctedii) if a player infringes the law and, inadvertently (otherwise Law 23 may apply), the irregularity is passed through the screen by his screenmate the latter has accepted the action on behalf of his side in situations where the laws permit LHO to accept it.b.) Before an irregularity is passed through the screen the offender or his screenmate shall draw the Director's attention to it. Infringing calls shall not be accepted and shall be put right without other rectification (but see (a)(ii) above); any other irregularity shall be rectified and the Director ensures that only the legal auction is passed through the screen. According to Law 25, the only way to correct a deliberate call is to change the call and see if LHO accepts it; but changing the call is nevertheless a deliberate infraction. With screens, if you call the TD he will inform you that you can not change your call and even if you do, 26.4 (b.) applies and the infringing call (the changed call) must be put right (the original call stands). If you do not call the TD, and change the call, and RHO passes the changed call through the screen, then 26.4 (a.) applies: the changed call stands, as if LHO had accepted the changed call without screens. If the original call is insufficient, 26.4 (b.) applies and you can call the TD and must correct the insufficient bid without penalty. Robin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.