TylerE Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 p - (p) - 1♣ - (p)1♠ - (p) - 2♠ - (p)p - (x) - p - (3♣) p - (3♥) - X!?!? Pure penalty, or cooperative? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlall Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 Absolutely penalty, good thread title it applies here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paca1987 Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 Just Penalty, if he has a good hand he can star with XX over 2♠.(sometimes its dangerous lol) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted December 3, 2009 Author Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 I think you're misreading the auction paca. The last X is *by* the 2♠ bidder, not over him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lmilne Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 I think this is the best treatment vs bad bids by most players, but vs the very best players, you have to wonder what they are up to... they probably aren't making a terrible bid in a spot where you might think a bid is obviously terrible. In some situations they might be walking the dog in a situation you haven't come across. Don't think this counts though (the 'bad bidder' passed as dealer and then at first chance to overcall, I doubt he will turn up with 8 solid :ph34r:) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Free Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 This is a rule of thumb. X is penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mich-b Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 I think a good rule is :If we have both bid , and already stopped in a partscore , all doubles are for penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 I think you're misreading the auction paca. The last X is *by* the 2♠ bidder, not over him. I think Paca read it it correctly. Anyway, xx would show interest in defending so xx followed by an x would certainly be penalty. Maybe this double is still penalty on the theory that ..... as the title says it. It is possible that the 3♣ bid was meant as natural but takes as "you chose". On the other hand, the 3♥ bidder could be walking the dog with 6-4 in the reds. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OleBerg Posted December 3, 2009 Report Share Posted December 3, 2009 I think you're misreading the auction paca. The last X is *by* the 2♠ bidder, not over him. I read it like paca. The 2♠ bidder could have redoubled the first double, if he wanted partner to cooperate. Therefore the second double is pure penalty. (That's pure technique.) When 2♠ is doubled in the pass-out seat, I would never suspect a "clever" opponent. A direct 3♥ might be a little suspicious, but it is all quite simple: I double it, if I have enough defensive potential, including something in hearts. Considerations about "clever" opponents should not influence what the double mean. But they could be taken into account, when we decide whether to make a penalty double or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.