pirate22 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 marginal hands 10/11/12 points----------I was kibbing a pair in main bridge,quite normal,and the north south pair defending and bidding ok nothing special---when after the 5th hand north made the statement---play the rule of 15,explanationcount your points full value, even 2 points for stiff say Q diamonds,then add the count to the number of spades you hold----------if it comes to 15 then openbe it 1c/1d/1ht/1spade (sayc wise)example Q982--KJ865--Q--K1094 open 1 ht-- the info i want is what, and assume pard,uses normal responses is there any further criteria to this rule of 15,e.g 1ht p-1s-p ???does one rebid 2 hts to show light opener,or can one rebid 2cl,assume one is not ply Drury- without knowing,beginners luck have opened these mrginal hands,with no problems so far :) regards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 The rule of 15 applies in fourth seat, when the first three players have passed. So partner is a passed hand, and if the unopposed auction goes P-1H-1S, opener can pass. On the hand you give, he should do so, IMO. The point to the rule is that if you open in fourth seat, and the opponents have the spades, you are likely to lose the part score battle. Since you can pass the hand out for a non-negative score, that's a better option in this case. The rule simply tells you to have some spades (so that perhaps the opponents can't outbid you in that suit) when you do open. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
P_Marlowe Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 You can also search the forum for Pearson Points, the rule of 15 or PearsonPoints is debated from time to time at any length. It is up to you, if you want to use the rule or not, but keep in mind,that the rule only applies in borderline cases, if you have a full opener, open. With kind regardsMarlowe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
babalu1997 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 The rule of 15 applies in fourth seat, when the first three players have passed. So partner is a passed hand, and if the unopposed auction goes P-1H-1S, opener can pass. On the hand you give, he should do so, IMO. The point to the rule is that if you open in fourth seat, and the opponents have the spades, you are likely to lose the part score battle. Since you can pass the hand out for a non-negative score, that's a better option in this case. The rule simply tells you to have some spades (so that perhaps the opponents can't outbid you in that suit) when you do open. And the spades are exactly the point. when I read them textbooks ( i reside in palooka land), all the examples refer to spades. but the intermediates in the main room use that when they hold minor suits too, that is why i run when i see profiles stating the rule of 15 in an indy the other day i saw a partner open 1 diamond with 4-3-3-3 ans 8 hcp in 3rd seat. then he said he *had to open* because he was in third seat. i have no need for the rule of 15, i open major suits with 11 hcp with 5 trumps and even 10 hcp with six trumps or 9 hcp with seven trumps and a side ace. IN ANY SEAT, IN ANY VUL!!! now the minors i pass those 12-13 with bad texture, IN ANY SEAT!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 The rule of 15 is too conservative, IMHO. An average hand has 10 points and 3.25 spades. Since p passed in 2nd seat where people tend to be most conservative, I think rule-of-13 would correspond roughly to a PAR score of 0. Factoring in that opps have the advantage that they are both limited (while partner doesn't know that we don't have a real opener), rule-of-13 would be too aggressive. But I think that most rule-of-14 hands should open. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codo Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 They had been threads about simulations about this theme. It is overused and often wrong. Please Csaba, find the link. :lol: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pirate22 Posted November 24, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Ty for inputs--have read the "Pearson points" and agree it refers to 4th seat,not originally realizing this(4th seat) i have recently used it in 1/2/3/4 seat,and with success, with my hand originally described if bidding went 1ht p 1sp p i would definitely rebid 2hts--but having said that if bidding went 1h p 1nt p ( i would rebid 2cl) regards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.