Jump to content

Claim - a trump is left out


mich-b

Recommended Posts

Declarer plays 6 with "too many" tricks, and trumps AKT9xxx opposite Jx.

He wins the lead , plays the J from dummy , RHO discarding a . Declarer ducks to LHO's Q, wins the next trick, draws 2 (yes 2!) more trumps and claims, showing his trumps, and saying he has an entry to dummy to cash the tricks there. The defense still has a trump left.

 

How would you rule?

 

Would your ruling be different if declarer claimed without drawing the 2 rounds of trumps?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From the description it seems that declarer did not make a statement about the remaining trump, it is possible that he had miscounted and was unaware that there was still a trump out so if he could lose a trick(or more) to that trump by normal play I would rule under Law70C3 that this is what happens.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes declarer screwed himself by playing exactly 2 before claiming and not mentioning it. Forget the legal aspect, he probably did forget how many trumps were out since the two normal things to do for someone who knows there are 3 low trumps left are to claim without playing any (after getting back on lead) or to play 3 rounds.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...