TimG Posted November 22, 2009 Report Share Posted November 22, 2009 Suppose that after the boards have been played, the score slip initialed, and one of the opponents has left the table, it is discovered that there was a revoke on one of the hands that went unnoticed during the play of the hand. The opponent still at the table is not convinced that a revoke had occurred. Is it too late to rectify the situation? If the director is called, what steps should he take? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted November 22, 2009 Report Share Posted November 22, 2009 Suppose that after the boards have been played, the score slip initialed, and one of the opponents has left the table, it is discovered that there was a revoke on one of the hands that went unnoticed during the play of the hand. The opponent still at the table is not convinced that a revoke had occurred. Is it too late to rectify the situation? If the director is called, what steps should he take?Law 64B:There is no rectification as in A following an established revoke:...........4. if attention was first drawn to the revoke after a member of the non-offending side has made a call on the subsequent deal.5. if attention was first drawn to the revoke after the round has ended. Law 64C:When, after any established revoke, including those not subject to rectification, the Director deems that the non-offending side is insufficiently compensated by this Law for the damage caused, he shall assign an adjusted score. So the answer is that if the revoke can be ascertained and that the non-offending side was damaged by it, the Director shall assign an adjusted score sufficient to compensate for the damage but nothing more than that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 You say "the boards have been played" but that is not enough to answer your question. If the alleged revoke was on the last board then there can be a revoke penalty since there was no subsequent board and it appears the round was not completed. If it was on one of the earlier boards equity should be restored if necessary, but no penalty tricks are given. As to what steps the TD should take, he investigates to find out what happened as far as he is able. This involves talking to the four players and reconstructing the play if possible - and finding out whether it is the last board of the set or not. If he can find no compelling evidence of a revoke then he will rule no revoke. As a general approach, the later a player asks for a ruling where facts are not agreed, the less likely a TD is to decide an infraction has occurred. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 The round doesn't end just 'cause the last board is finished. If the round has not yet been called when the last board is finished, then the round ends when it's called. If the last board is still in play when the round is called, the round ends for that table when the moving players leave the table. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted November 23, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 The round doesn't end just 'cause the last board is finished. If the round has not yet been called when the last board is finished, then the round ends when it's called. If the last board is still in play when the round is called, the round ends for that table when the moving players leave the table. I did not say "end of the round" in my opening post because I wasn't sure whether the signing of the score slip might end the round for this table. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 No, it does not. The round ends when the TD calls the start of the next round [or later for a table still in play]. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 It is reasonable (albeit wrong) to guess that the round ends when the score slip is signed. Better, of course, would be to read the law and not guess. B) I do note that the travellers in common use in my area (and probably throughout the ACBL) have no space for anyone to sign or initial them, unlike the pickup slips also in common use. I would add that I consider myself lucky if the pickup slip has any more on it than either the board number or the NS pair number (but not both, and the NS pair number is frequently wrong), the contract (but not who declared it) and the score (but not how many tricks were made). It will frequently not have been signed or initialed. :) :blink: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris3875 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Darn - you need to crack the whip a bit harder Ed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Heh. Ever tried herding cats? :) :lol: :lol: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oof Arted Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Heh. Ever tried herding cats? :lol: :lol: :lol: :D Rather easier than getting 'Bridge' players to listen to TD's :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.