Jump to content

auction closed or not ?


bali 2

Recommended Posts

Comments many years ago from one of my two friends, Jens Brix Christiansen or Jesper Dybdal.

OK. Jens is directing tomorrow at the Danish League matches anyway, so I might discuss the matter with him.

 

However, first I must complete a match, followed by TWO appeals cases that my team is involved in. I might present the cases here when the smoke has cleared, so that our readers here can get some practice :angry:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jens is directing tomorrow at the Danish League matches anyway, so I might discuss the matter with him.

No luck. Jens did not recall exactly what was discussed. However, he felt fairly sure that we never had a regulation which stated how removing the bidding cards should be interpreted.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

WBF. COC 2009 ( ¤ 24 . Bidding boxes ) : " If a player whose pass auction removes his bidding cards from the table, he is deemed to have passed."

For example : N opens 1NT, East 2, South 3NT, W pass, N pass, and when East removes his 2 card he is deemed to have passed.

So, apparently, we are not here in the same situation, and we may be inclined to say that as the North player has not called over 2, the auction is not closed, and East has not the option to remove his card "Pass" ( from the first round ) to close the auction.

So we go back to the tha auction, North's turn to call : N do not see the 2 card and do not bid ( he removes his 1NT card ) , East removes his "Pass" card, concluding the auction, and now we have 3 Pass over the 2 bid. We still arrive at the same result : 2 is the final contract. If the TD allows the auction to be reopened and gives North the opportunity to call again, he is canceling the mistake and favoring N/S side against E/W, and also ruling on contrary to the law 17( or may be 22 ...) :P

 

Al. Ohana

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Screens

...

A call placed and released may be changed under the Director's supervision:

...

:rolleyes: If it is determined by the Director to be a call inadvertently selected

 

Even if we accept the absurd argument that North has passed, the pass was plainly selected inadvertently, and can therefore be changed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...