jallerton Posted October 9, 2009 Report Share Posted October 9, 2009 I agree with Bluejak that we need to confirm the meaning of West's double of 3♥. If penalties (as seems likely) then surely North's pull to 4♦ exposes the fact that North has misbid or psyched; with hearts North would surely pass and play in 3♥x. Hence South's pass of 4♦ should be categorised as 'green' and there should be no adjustment to 60/40. Of course we need consider North's bidding in the light of the UI and I like the TD's weighted ruling as outlined by Barrie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 9, 2009 Report Share Posted October 9, 2009 How can this be a fielded misbid? We are told that East has not misbid. What is this putative adjustment to 60/40, are we adjusting because there is evidence that West used 4♦ to remember the partnership agreement? Robin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jallerton Posted October 10, 2009 Report Share Posted October 10, 2009 After lead of ♣3 north said "Sorry. I should explain that I pulled out the wrong bid." North was claiming to have misbid. Of course this does not necessarily mean that North has misbid; the TD has to review other evidence (e.g. the convention card) and have regard to the direction given by Law 75 in determining whether there is deemed to have been a mistaken bid or mistaken explanation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 13, 2009 Report Share Posted October 13, 2009 Oops! Sorry, my remarks belonged to a different thread, which also featured a 4♦ bid. Robin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.