Jump to content

Well judged or just lucky?


paulg

Recommended Posts

My partner took a couple of actions in last night's match that I thought were poorly judged, but in the post mortem more than one person did the same so perhaps it is my judgement that is impaired.

 

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=sj9xxxhaxdqxcqxxx]133|100|Scoring: Total Points

1 (3) ?[/hv]

You are playing SAYC and 3 is described as intermediate (typically 11-15 HCP with a fair 6-card suit).

 

Your call?

 

If you bid 3, then the auction continues (4) 4 (5) back to you?

 

The second hand is interesting in that I feel my initial view was wrong and my partner probably did judge well, even though I would not have done the same.

 

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=sj9xxxhaxdqxcqxxx]133|100|Scoring: Total Points

1 (3) ?[/hv]

My partner passed, when I would have doubled. RHO also passed and I balanced with 2 which became the final contract, making 10 tricks for the par score.

 

If partner had doubled, there is a great temptation to bid the no-play 3NT over my 3C response especially at aggregate scoring.

 

Paul

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My partner took a couple of actions in last night's match that I thought were poorly judged, but in the post mortem more than one person did the same so perhaps it is my judgement that is impaired.

 

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=sj9xxxhaxdqxcqxxx]133|100|Scoring: Total Points

1 (3) ?[/hv]

You are playing SAYC and 3 is described as intermediate (typically 11-15 HCP with a fair 6-card suit).

 

Your call?

 

I have no quibble with either 3 or 4. Pass is unacceptable

 

If you bid 3, then the auction continues (4) 4 (5) back to you?

 

Think about the hands you could hold for your 3 call. IMO they could be as bad as a nonconstructive raise yet partner still felt comfortable bidding 4. Consequently I don't have a problem bidding 5 at this point.

=

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the first one, I bid 4 on the first round. If they bid 5 over that, I double, completing a reasonable description of my hand.

 

On the second, I double 1 because everyone else does. Modern takeout doubles being what they are, partner should have quite a good hand to bid 3 in reply - KQxxx and A would be typical.

 

After

  dbl (pass) 3 (pass)

I bid 3NT, which will probably go down if we have to lose a club, but make otherwise. For the same reason, I'd bid 2NT in your actual auction. What did partner have?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The first hand was a bit of a distributional freak, as the 3 bidder has a 1840 5-count that can make twelve tricks if you guess the red queens. I thought that 4 was clear and that 3 followed by double was misguided. 5 would go for -300.

 

On the second hand I held xx xx AKxx Qxxxx. Perhaps not ideal for a 3 response to a takeout double, but aggregate scoring rewards games more than IMPs.

 

Paul

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The first hand was a bit of a distributional freak, as the 3 bidder has a 1840 5-count that can make twelve tricks if you guess the red queens. I thought that 4 was clear and that 3 followed by double was misguided. 5 would go for -300.

Yeah I hate doubling when the 3H bidder bids 5H, imo if theyre not crazy that's usually 7-5 or 7-4-2-void maybe. I know I know people say I never double in these auctions etc but doubling them with 1 trick when they have a distributional freak and their partner has a fit seems bad.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=sj9xxxhaxdqxcqxxx]133|100|Scoring: Total Points

My partner took a couple of actions in last night's match that I thought were poorly judged, but in the post mortem more than one person did the same so perhaps it is my judgement that is impaired.

1 (3) ?

You are playing SAYC and 3 is described as intermediate (typically 11-15 HCP with a fair 6-card suit). Your call?

If you bid 3, then the auction continues (4) 4 (5) back to you?

[/hv]

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=sj9xxxhaxdqxcqxxx]133|100|Scoring: Total Points

My partner took a couple of actions in last night's match that I thought were poorly judged, but in the post mortem more than one person did the same so perhaps it is my judgement that is impaired.

1 (3) ?

You are playing SAYC and 3 is described as intermediate (typically 11-15 HCP with a fair 6-card suit). Your call?

If you bid 3, then the auction continues (4) 4 (5) back to you?

[/hv]

 

Paul

JLall agrees with you Paul, so your judgement can't be too bad. IMO...

    • Over (3). 4 = 10, 3 = 5
    • Over (5), _P = 10, _X = 8, 5 = 5.

[*]Over (1), _X = 10, _P = 8, 1N = 6.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...