Jump to content

Yet another insufficient bid


Coelacanth

Recommended Posts

Sorry for another Law 27/Law 23 question.

 

South dealt and passed, West opened 2NT, North (me) passed and East bid 2. The director was duly summoned.

 

East held a (very) weak hand with long diamonds. In their methods, 2 over a 1NT opener is a relay to 3 for purposes of getting out in either minor.

 

I was not privy to East's away-from-the-table discussion with the Director, but based on his comments after the hand I think he said something like this: "I thought my partner opened 1NT and was attempting to sign off in 3. Over a 2NT opener, 3 is undiscussed, but I would have bid it anyway, hoping my partner would figure it out."

 

The director ruled that L27B1( b ) did not apply. Actually, he didn't state this explicitly, but he announced to the table that East could change his call to any sufficient bid (or a pass, I guess), but that West would be forced to pass for the remainder of the auction.

 

East bid 3, everyone passed, and this contract was defeated 1 trick. If East had made any sufficient call at his first turn, EW would have reached either 3NT or 4, either of which is booked for at least a 2-trick set.

 

Do you adjust? If so, is this a straightforward L27D situation or would you also invoke L23?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes. No. Yes :)

 

The TD applied Law 27 B2 as he judged (IMO correctly) that B1 does not apply. After any B2 application there is no way to Law 27 D (as you can read inside that law).

 

But the whole case is a classic example for the application of Law 23. The only way to play in a low contract is to barr partner.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Why does Law 27B1B contain the words "... without further rectification, but see D below"?

Because (as Peter says) L27D only applies after L27B1(a.) or L27B1(b.).

 

To reiterate, having ruled that neither L27B1(a.) or L27B1(b.) applies, the TD ruled that L27B2 applied to 3. Because L27D only applies after L27B1(a.) or L27B1(b.), the TD does not apply L27D. Because L27B2 refers to L23, the TD can apply L23.

 

I guess I am missing the point of the question: L27B1(a.) or L27B1(b.) refer to L27D; L27B2 does not refer to L27D; L27D refers to L27B1.

 

Robin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It might have been better had the director actually specified under which law he was ruling. :lol:

 

Peter's right that 27D does not apply to a 27B2 ruling - and this appears to be a 27B2 ruling. And 27B2 directs us to 23. So, could East have known that EW would get a get result if his partner was barred? I dunno, probably he could have known just about anything. Could his partner have had a hand where being barred would lead to a bad result? Does that matter? Or is "could have known" so wide ranging that EW are screwed however the cards lay?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sorry for not reading carefully the little numbers: ignore my earlier post.

 

Law 23 is based on commonsense. If there is a position where there is some reasonable likelihood of a player working out it is to his advantage to infract, Law 23 applies. If there is a position where a miracle could occur and an infraction could work out to the player's benefit [which is basically any infraction] Law 23 does not apply.

 

Yes, Ed, anyone could think anything, but in practice is a player likely to know it could help him? Well, let me see, your partner opens 2NT, you have a very weak hand with long diamonds, you want to play in 3 but it is a transfer. If you make an insufficient bid and correct it to 3 you will silence partner and be able to play in 3. Not difficult to work out: sure it is a Law 23 case.

 

It is nothing to do with how the cards lay. Signing off in 3 might turn out to be the wrong thing, but since it seems likely to be best it is a Law 23 case.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...