Jump to content

Insufficient Bid


jmcw

Recommended Posts

North opens 1NT-->Pass-->1-->

 

After a pause, West called the Director, South apparently woke up and blurted out "Oh its a transfer" (before the director arrived).

The director ruled that it was a "mechanical" error and allowed South to corrected the bid to 2.

 

West felt he should have had the option of accepting the bid and that North had gained unauthorized information. The Director disagreed and ruled the auction to continue without penalty.

 

Was this ruling correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The director ruled that the 1 bid was a mechanical error and therefore unintended (inadvertant in the old Laws). It sounds like South attempted to correct it when he realized that the bid on the table was not what he attempted. Thus the bid is corrected and West does not get a chance to accept the original 1.

 

South's blurted "Oh its a transfer" is unauthorized to information for North. But if, in fact, N/S play transfers then there really is no logical alternative for North except for completing the transfer, so I don't see a problem here.

 

Yes, the director's ruling is correct.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...