lamford Posted August 25, 2009 Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 The auction went:1♠ - X - 4♠ - PassPass - 3♦The next hand pointed out that 3♦ was insufficient, and the player substituted double before I arrived at the table. I offered the next player the option to accept double, but he declined to do so, but he did want to accept the 3♦ call and bid 4♠ again. Don't ask me why! The question is whether the next hand is silenced for one round (which is how I interpreted the law) or whether acceptance of the 3♦ call frees her to bid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 25, 2009 Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 If the offender replaces his insufficient bid before the director has ruled on rectification, unless the insufficient bid is accepted as A above allows, the substitution stands.Any insufficient bid may be accepted (treated as legal) at the option of offender’s LHO.Once the 4♠ bidder accepts the original IB the provisions of Law 27B regarding who can bid what, lead penalties and so on, do not apply. The legal auction is now 1♠-3♦-4♠- (the original 4♠ call will have been cancelled, this 4♠ is the call that player wished to make over 3♦), and all the players can bid what they like. 3♦ bidder's partner has UI from the bidder's attempt to change 3♦ to X (which attempt, btw, is probably illegal, and would have been cancelled had the IB not been accepted - see Law 27B3). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterE Posted August 25, 2009 Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 I think Ed misread the OP and lamford misread the law. The first round of the auction was1♠ (X) 4♠ (pass)and the second started withpass (3♦) Now the IBer changed his IB with a premature X. The TD should have read Law 27 C (cited above) and ask the next player (the 4♠ guy) whether he accepts the 3♦ (not the X). Now, A) if he accepts (seems to be his truly desire :)) the auctions continues at the point of 3♦ and the (second) X is cancelled and subject to Law 16 D. B ) if he does not accept 3♦, the (second) X stands and except as provided in B1(b ) above, if the offender attempts to substitute a double or a redouble for his insufficient bid the attempted call is cancelled. The offender must replace it as the foregoing allows and his partner must then pass whenever it is his turn to call. The lead restrictions in Law 26 may apply, and see Law 23.applies, which means that i) the (second) X is cancelled;ii) that player has to substitute it with a sufficient bid or a pass;iii) his partner is barred for the remainder of the auction;iv) Law 26 will apply, if the OS will be defenders;v) Law 23 may apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 25, 2009 Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 Peter's right, both in that I misread the OP, and in his ruling. :unsure: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted August 25, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 Yes, I agree with Peter - the double was not an insufficient bid, and therefore the next player cannot be given the chance to accept it and I presume that if he did before I arrived it is treated as in 36A. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
axman Posted August 25, 2009 Report Share Posted August 25, 2009 The auction went:1♠ - X - 4♠ - PassPass - 3♦ Perhaps it might be interesting to change the situation a bit, specifically the TD having given the ruling, the 3D was not accepted, and instead of attempting to substitute a double, the player does substitute a double. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterE Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 see my ruling B upthread B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 I can see no reason why L27B3 should not apply. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.