Jump to content

Enough to bid at MP's?


kgr

Recommended Posts

I'd bid and wait for partner's action (if any).

me too - I have 6 tricks (all being well) and its unlikely lho will X for penalties as he/she won't have great hearts and doesn't know what partner's other suit is - and very unlikely partner will be X'ing for t/o :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=d=e&v=n&s=sxhakqtxxdtxxcxxx]133|100|Scoring: MP[/hv]

RHO opens 2 Muiderberg (Weak with 5 card and 4+ minor). Is this enough to bid at MP's?

suspect it depends on agreements I would use 2NT as a sort of reverse Lebensohl where over partner's 3m bid I could make a NF 3 call. I would expect any 3 level call over 2 to be forcing

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Dealer: East
Vul: None
Scoring: MP
x
AKQTxx
Txx
xxx
 

RHO opens 2 Muiderberg (Weak with 5 card and 4+ minor). Is this enough to bid at MP's?

suspect it depends on agreements I would use 2NT as a sort of reverse Lebensohl where over partner's 3m bid I could make a NF 3 call. I would expect any 3 level call over 2 to be forcing

What planet do you live on? Without special agreements 2NT is natural, and any 3-level bid is non-forcing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

<!-- ONEHAND begin --><table border='1'> <tr> <td> <table> <tr> <td> Dealer: </td> <td> East </td> </tr> <tr> <td> Vul: </td> <td> None </td> </tr> <tr> <td> Scoring: </td> <td> MP </td> </tr> </table> </td> <td> <table> <tr> <th> <span class='spades'> ♠ </span> </th> <td> x </td> </tr> <tr> <th> <span class='hearts'> ♥ </span> </th> <td> AKQTxx </td> </tr> <tr> <th> <span class='diamonds'> ♦ </span> </th> <td> Txx </td> </tr> <tr> <th> <span class='clubs'> ♣ </span> </th> <td> xxx </td> </tr> </table> </td> <td>  </td> </tr> </table><!-- ONEHAND end -->

RHO opens 2 Muiderberg (Weak with 5 card and 4+ minor). Is this enough to bid at MP's?

suspect it depends on agreements I would use 2NT as a sort of reverse Lebensohl where over partner's 3m bid I could make a NF 3 call. I would expect any 3 level call over 2 to be forcing

What planet do you live on? Without special agreements 2NT is natural, and any 3-level bid is non-forcing.

Don't use Muiderberg but was presuming that 2NT was used to find the minor suit in the 2 bidders hand. Having seen some your responses at least I am from this universe :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

pooltuna, it was rho who opened 2, not partner.

 

Just treat 2 as a normal preempt.

 

BTW the standard responses to muiderberg are: 2NT GF, 3 p/c.

2NT GF really?

 

I'm used to playing 3 as p/c and 2NT as inv+.

Over 2NT 3m shows a minimum, and responder might pass, whereas 3M shows a maximum with the corresponding minor suit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

pooltuna, it was rho who opened 2, not partner.

 

Just treat 2 as a normal preempt.

 

BTW the standard responses to muiderberg are: 2NT GF, 3 p/c.

2NT GF really?

 

I'm used to playing 3 as p/c and 2NT as inv+.

Over 2NT 3m shows a minimum, and responder might pass, whereas 3M shows a maximum with the corresponding minor suit.

On what auctions does responder have the flexibility to show his own minor?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I bid partner will put me to game with some hearts and Axx Axx or similar.

 

If I PASS partner will also PASS with some hearts and Ax Ax or similar.

 

Either could be right. I usually only bid with a little more distribution 6=4.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I did overcall 3 and my partner did bid 3NT, but he considered a slam try.

3NT just made.

What was your partner's hand?

...I don't know, but here is a guess from what I remember of the play.

[hv=n=sqt9xhxxdakj9xcax&w=sxxxhjxxxdqcqjxxx&e=sakjxxhxdtxxxckxx&s=sxhakqtxxdxxxctxx]399|300|[/hv]

I was more interested if the South hand was ok to overcall, independent of the result.

Thanks,

Koen

Link to comment
Share on other sites

well done and 3 Heart was on the lower side on HCPS but 6 tricks in a solid suit and a shortness in their main suit is too much to pass.

 

Had you passed, Partner had been in a really tricky situation. Shall he pass given his heart shortage and spade length? Bid 3 Diamond?

 

The one with the shortness sometimes needs to act.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

pooltuna, it was rho who opened 2, not partner.

 

Just treat 2 as a normal preempt.

 

BTW the standard responses to muiderberg are: 2NT GF, 3 p/c.

2NT GF really?

 

I'm used to playing 3 as p/c and 2NT as inv+.

Over 2NT 3m shows a minimum, and responder might pass, whereas 3M shows a maximum with the corresponding minor suit.

On what auctions does responder have the flexibility to show his own minor?

2M-4m is a natural GF for me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I did overcall 3 and my partner did bid 3NT, but he considered a slam try.

3NT just made.

What was your partner's hand?

...I don't know, but here is a guess from what I remember of the play.

[hv=n=sqt9xhxxdakj9xcax&w=sxxxhjxxxdqcqjxxx&e=sakjxxhxdtxxxckxx&s=sxhakqtxxdxxxctxx]399|300|[/hv]

I was more interested if the South hand was ok to overcall, independent of the result.

Thanks,

Koen

Well judged - unlucky.

 

You might get there or 4 if you PASS and partner likes to bid 2NT a little light in 4th seat (not my style).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would pass over the 2 opening and bid 4 after partner's reopening call, whatever it is.

 

Also, I have no clue why 4 should fail on this hand. Seems easy enough to ruff a club in dummy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I bid partner will put me to game with some hearts and Axx Axx or similar.

So you score -100 in 4 instead of -140/-170 defending 2.

If not doubled.

You might not believe it, but I actually did know that - however, I will take my shot at them not doubling with no trump trick and no ace outside of the suit they preempted in.

Do you really think defending 2 is a better MP spot than playing 4 on these cards, or did you just make this post to back up your original decision?

 

Btw, kgr, your partner isn't close to a slam try (assuming you remember his hand right).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do you really think defending 2 is a better MP spot than playing 4 on these cards, or did you just make this post to back up your original decision?

Its not that simple. PASS here does not end the auction. So it is not a simple choice between bidding and defending 2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...