bluejak Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Last one tonight. [hv=d=w&v=n&n=sjt74hjdq765ck753&w=s83hkt9dak983cj82&e=saq5h876532dj42c9&s=sk962haq4dtcaqt64]399|300|Scoring: Siwss PairsContract:4♥ dbld by WestPlay:N: ♦5 2 T KW: ♣2 3 9 TS: ♣A 8 5 ♥2E: ♥3 4 K JW: ♥T ♠2 ♥5 QS: ♥A ♣J 7 ♥6[/hv] Having failed to play his trump under the ace, declarer established the diamonds, reaching them with his good trump, and discarded dummy's spades. He lost a club, two hearts and a diamond for one off. The revoke penalty made this two off. N/S asked the TD to look to see if they might get more under Law 64C. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I don't think so. All declarer has to do is duck a ♦ to North and they're established, so he loses 1♦, 2♥, and 1♣. If North refuses to take the ♦Q, he loses 2♥, 2♠, 1♣. Neither case is down more than 2. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winstonm Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 A day in the life? I read the rules today, oh boy, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
McBruce Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 It's tempting to award 2H 2S 1D and 1C to N-S, but I see no road to that result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
McBruce Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 BTW, this is some event David is reporting from: 440 pairs in a single event over four sessions, 14 matches of 9 boards (I think). Wow. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I like the way you present the play diagram, David. I think it's the first time I have been able to read a play diagram without getting dizzy :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted August 15, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 To be honest, I am never quite sure of the best way to do play diagrams. One way is to always do W N E S and underline the winner: or perhaps show who leads as I have done, but put W N E S: or as I have done here. I thought I would try this way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 best way for a play diagram is to do what you did, but in the end also put a final diagram with the state of all cards at that point. This is a lot of work and someone is gonan complain because ♣5 was suposed to be played before and not the 7. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
awm Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 It does seem pretty routine for declarer to go at most two down by ducking a diamond to north. Since this is the result after the revoke penalty I don't see any reason to adjust further. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFA Posted August 17, 2009 Report Share Posted August 17, 2009 It does seem pretty routine for declarer to go at most two down by ducking a diamond to north. Since this is the result after the revoke penalty I don't see any reason to adjust further. I agree. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted August 18, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 18, 2009 The TD who made the decision and I were not entirely convinced that West was the sort of player who would find the duck of a diamond obvious, even if it seems obvious enough on paper. At the table the diamonds apparently were established in the normal way - yes, we know that was with a guaranteed entry. Rightly or wrongly, the TD decided she would not play the diamonds correctly 100% of the time, so she gave a weighted score by which the defenders got some percentage of another trick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.