Aberlour10 Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Playing SAYC, P opens 2♠ in first seat holding... ♠K♥AQxxxx♦AK♣KJxx 2 NT response would mean strong forcing, I know. My question: Is it allowed to bid instead 3♥, does it force one round? What do you mean? Robert Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hrothgar Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Comment 1: Whether or not 3♥ is forcing is a matter of partnership agreement. I prefer a style in which 3♥ would be forcing. I believe that this is more common than not. However, I have played in more than one partnership where new suits are nonforicng. Comment 2: I think that most people would describe their 2NT as an asking bid rather than storng and forcing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 3♥ would be forcing by almost everyone, I think. Pairs who play it as nonforcing are probably either very old-fashioned, or play junk preempts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peachy Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 This is what the SAYC system includes. 2S-3H: 3H is 5+ hearts and forcing for one round 2S-2NT: 2NT is asking partner to show a feature if he has a maximum range weak two. Minimum weak two will rebid spades. Feature is a side king or side ace. Other agreements are possible. What one might call "standard" is that new suits are forcing and if you play with a pickup good player, assume this unless you had specifically agreed them as nonforcing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pooltuna Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Haven't checked my SAYC booklet recently but my gut reaction is that SAYC plays RONF [Raise only NON-FORCING bid] so yes if you are playing with me you will get another bid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neilkaz Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Haven't checked my SAYC booklet recently but my gut reaction is that SAYC plays RONF [Raise only NON-FORCING bid] so yes if you are playing with me you will get another bid This is correct. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Free Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Playing this as forcing is imo best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cascade Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Playing this as forcing is imo best. Not sure whether or not it is best but the normal standard is definitely RONF R aise O nly N on- F orce Which means that 2Maj (PASS) 3Maj is not forcing and anything else below game is forcing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobowolf Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Playing this as forcing is imo best. Not sure whether or not it is best but the normal standard is definitely RONF R aise O nly N on- F orce Which means that 2Maj (PASS) 3Maj is not forcing and anything else below game is forcing. Just to clarify (in case it's not clear from the word 'raise'), it's only 3 of the same major that's non-forcing, e.g. 2♠ - 3♠ or 2♥ - 3♥. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
P_Marlowe Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 As always, it depends on agreement. It is quite common to play RONF, raise only nonforcing. The main factor in deciding, what to play, is how crappy could theweak two bid look like. For B/I purposes I would suggest, you play RONF. One adv. is, that would play a similar structure after a 2 level preemptas after a 3 level preempt, and if you opened on the 3 level, most players would play new suits as forcing. I am not sure, this is covered in the SAYC notes. With kind regardsMarlowe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantumcat Posted July 30, 2009 Report Share Posted July 30, 2009 Here is a method that solves all problems for responder after a pre-empt by his partner. Any bid after a pre-empt by your partner is a transfer! (One round only.) Now you can: * Play in your suit with a weak hand and total intolerance for partner* You can make a forcing bid with a new suit, and also get to bid the next one up naturally without losing a level of bidding* You can make an invite and show your suit at the same time to help pard judge whether to accept* You can splinter* You can still further the pre-empt 2♠ 2NT 3♣ 3♦ - forcing hand with clubs and diamonds 2♠ 3♦3♥ 4♥ - want to play in 4♥ 2♠ 3♣ 3♦ 3♠ - invite with a diamond suit, so partner can judge on medium hands whether to accept 2♠ 3♥ - general invite 2♠ 3♥3♠ 4♣ - cue, slam interest even after the rejection 2♠ 2NT3♣ 4♠ - slam invite with a side club suit that needs a little help 2♠ 3♦ 3♥ pass - want to play in 3♥ - long suit, singleton/void spade, weak 2♠ 3♠ - normal furthering the pre-empt 2♠ 4♠ - to play 2♠ 3NT - to play 2♠ 4♣ - splinter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts