A2003 Posted July 22, 2009 Report Share Posted July 22, 2009 Board 23 bidding is going on, but I am holding brd 24 hand and bidding accordingly.I am bidding with wrong set of cards. Bidding ends and Partner leads and I realized that I am holding wrong cards.I put back the brd 24 hands and picked up brd 23 hands.Now what? On-line games, this will not happen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 23, 2009 Report Share Posted July 23, 2009 At the time you realize you had the wrong hand, you call the director and let him deal with it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 23, 2009 Report Share Posted July 23, 2009 The director will apply L17D. Cards from Wrong Board 1. A call is cancelled if it is made by a player on cards that he has picked up from a wrong board. 2. After looking at the correct hand the offender calls again and the auction continues normally from that point. If offender’s LHO has called over the cancelled call the Director shall award artificial adjusted scores when offender’s substituted call differs* from his cancelled call (offender’s LHO must repeat the previous call) or if the offender’s partner has subsequently called over the cancelled call. 3. If the offender subsequently repeats his call on the board from which he mistakenly drew his cards the Director may allow that board to be played normally, but the Director shall award artificial adjusted scores when offender’s call differs* from his original cancelled call. 4. A procedural penalty (Law 90) may be assessed in addition to rectifications under 2 and 3 above. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
McBruce Posted July 24, 2009 Report Share Posted July 24, 2009 Law 17D is one of those Laws that is several dozen pages in the book away from where it should be. Most of the time, the player gets to the END of the auction period and the play has begun before he realizes that he has cards from the wrong board; yet, the Law is situated at the beginning of the auction section. It would be better to put in a Law 41E that refers to 17D when the problem is discovered at trick one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted July 24, 2009 Report Share Posted July 24, 2009 2. After looking at the correct hand the offender calls again and the auction continues normally from that point. If offender’s LHO has called over the cancelled call the Director shall award artificial adjusted scores when .... the offender’s partner has subsequently called over the cancelled call. So unless there was a one round auction and your partner called before you, the board will be cancelled. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Law 17D is one of those Laws that is several dozen pages in the book away from where it should be. Most of the time, the player gets to the END of the auction period and the play has begun before he realizes that he has cards from the wrong board; yet, the Law is situated at the beginning of the auction section. It would be better to put in a Law 41E that refers to 17D when the problem is discovered at trick one.I told the lawmakers before both the last two Law books this Law was misplaced. No effect. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
goodwintr Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Something like this occurred in a European Championship match many years ago. A player -- Claude Deruy, of France, if I recall correctly -- was in fourth position after three passes. He had been musing about the play of the previous deal, and hadn't returned his cards from that deal to the pocket. He took a look at his hand, didn't see enough to open the bidding, and passed. It was reported that this was on vugraph, and that the commentators were having a lot of trouble explaining to the audience how Deruy knew to pass out the deal when he had a balanced 22-count. . . . There must have been a different rule back then, because the score was duly entered as "passed out." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.