Hanoi5 Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Let's say your partner opens 2♣ and you think you saw 3♣ so you pass and your LHO in disbelief takes a long time to pass and then you notice! You transfer to hearts over your partner's 2NT opening, your partner bids and you pass over your partner's 3NT and then you notice LHO surprise look, you return your view to the table: your partner had bid 3♠! Can your bid be changed in any of the above circumstances? Edit: Would it be considered a failure in ethics the fact that LHO decides to pass not allowing the change? Even though the opponent states that s/he failed to see the bid? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 No. You can undo a mechanical error, say if you intended to place the stop card but got a pass card instead. In the above examples you intended to pass. So you can't undo it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobowolf Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 You could change it until the laws were recently changed, but you couldn't get a score better than average-minus. Now there's not provision for deliberate change of call. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gwnn Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 You don't have to miss a penalty if your opp made a stupid handball in the box. This is how one of the good players in my club explained these situations to me when I was little. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JoAnneM Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 The question in the poll really has only one answer. Only the director can make those decisions and it has nothing to do with whether the opponents will allow it or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted June 30, 2009 Report Share Posted June 30, 2009 The question in the poll really has only one answer. Only the director can make those decisions and it has nothing to do with whether the opponents will allow it or not. That's not quite true. If you try to change your bid to something different, the next hand has the right to accept that change. Effectively, therefore, the next hand does have the right to let you take your call back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OleBerg Posted June 30, 2009 Report Share Posted June 30, 2009 Voted "Something else", but might have voted "normally". If the opponent was weak-sighted, got distracted by something outside of the game, or something similiar, I might allow it. Law 81: A.... B.... C...The director's duties and powers normally include also the following: 1... 2... 3... 4... 5.to waive rectification for cause, in his discretion, upon the request of the non-offending side. So if I wanted to allow it, and act corectly, I'd call the director, and then ask him to waive. In real life I'd simply allow it. :) (Laws: http://www.worldbridge.org/departments/Law...wsComplete.pdf) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JoAnneM Posted June 30, 2009 Report Share Posted June 30, 2009 Well, that was the point I was trying to make and didn't say it very well. Both of your statements involved the director, and that is what has to happen first. The opponents accepting is part of what the Laws might allow. As a director I just don't like rulings made at the table, by the players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.