Jump to content

Alerting of Doubles


Gerben42

Recommended Posts

According to this rule, do you alert

 

(4) Dbl if it's penalty, or if it is take out?

I would say that if a partnership had a 100% agreement that a double of 4 was a takeout double, that would be alertable. If a partnership had a 100% agreement that the double of 4 was for penalty, that would be alertable. Both of these agreements would be unexpected. But if the double of 4 means what it means to most players - a good hand which is unwilling to pass 4, expects to go plus against 4 doubled but is not based on trump tricks and has no clear call - then it would not be alertable.

 

If you look over the various forum posts dealing with high-level doubles, you get a variety of answers to the question of how to handle these situations. But all of the posts agree on one thing - the "standard" meaning of a double of 4 is penalty, but that doesn't mean that the double is based on trump tricks. Any other specific partnership agreement of the meaning of the double would be unusual and should be alerted.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...