Jump to content

enough for 4D control?


kgr

Recommended Posts

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=skjxhqtxxdaqxxxcx]133|100|Scoring: MP[/hv]

1-4!-(DBL)

Pass-??

 

4=4+card , singleton (no void), 12-14 HCP

Pass by partner denies 2nd control in (..Not sure if 2nd control is useful after splinter)

 

Do you bid 4 or 4 now. Is your 5th enough extra to bid 4?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If 4 would be a cue bid, I don't think you need extras to bid it - you should do it whenever you have diamond control. The right way to differentiate between a minimum and a maximum is:

- If opener isn't interested, he signs off over the double of 4.

- If opener is interested only opposite a maximum, he passes 4. If responder now bids 4, opener bids 4. With a maximum, responder is expected to bid again.

- If opener is interested opposite any splinter, he passes 4, then bids past 4.

That allows opener to find out about both responder's strength and his diamond control.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks all for the answers. On this hand it didn't matter much. I did bid ans partner continued with RKC and 2 aces were missing. (one Ace and Heart K).

Hoping that I can create some more detailed rules, I opened an other post.

- Also because of the support for 4 here. I thought it should/was best to show extra's.

- There was a remark that partners pass is showing extras because he can bid 4H with a minimum hand. Bidding 4H does probably not say enything about controls in , but simply says that you are minimum. Can it have D-control?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

- There was a remark that partners pass is showing extras because he can bid 4H with a minimum hand. Bidding 4H does probably not say enything about controls in , but simply says that you are minimum. Can it have D-control?

Of course it can. 4 is a sign-off that simply just denies slam interest because of lack of power.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=d=n&v=n&s=skjxhqtxxdaqxxxcx  

1-4!-(dbl)

pass-??

 

4=4+card , singleton (no void), 12-14 hcp

pass by partner denies 2nd control in (..not sure if 2nd control is useful after splinter)

 

do you bid 4 or 4 now. is your 5th enough extra to bid 4?

fyi: partner had

dealer: ?????
vul: ????
scoring: unknown]133|100|Scoring: MP

Ax
AJxxx
KJx
xxx
[/hv]

and bidding was:

1-4-(DBL)

P-4

4NT-5

5

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...