Jump to content

Inadvertent designation


Recommended Posts

Let's say dummy is good. I play one of those cards and instead of discarding I trump (ruff). I notice it after the card is on the table so it has been 'played'. It is not the card I intended to play (of course!) but it's the one played, could I change it? What is an inadvertently designated card? Is it only from dummy? Is that card inadvertently designated because I mistook it from my hand and played it?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This happened to me today:

 

The lead was in dummy and I decided to play a club to my queen. I was looking at dummy's 3. I pointed vaguely in the direction of that card and said,

 

"Small heart please."

 

Then partner started to reach for a card and for a moment I couldn't understand why he was reaching for the red cards on the left rather than the black cards on the right.

 

Now that is an inadvertent designation.

 

It only applies to cards that have been named. If you play a card by placing it on the table or suchlike, then it can't be retracted even if you feel it got there inadvertently.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It only applies to cards that have been named. If you play a card by placing it on the table or suchlike, then it can't be retracted even if you feel it got there inadvertently.

It may not technically be a "designation", but I believe an inadvertently played card can be corrected. This happens with some frequency with bidding boxes -- a player intends to bid 2S, but pulls out 2H instead, when he sees 2H on the table he may immediately (without pause for thought) correct the mechanical error. I believe the same would apply to an inadvertently played card as long as the correction was made without pause for thought.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It may not technically be a "designation", but I believe an inadvertently played card can be corrected. This happens with some frequency with bidding boxes -- a player intends to bid 2S, but pulls out 2H instead, when he sees 2H on the table he may immediately (without pause for thought) correct the mechanical error. I believe the same would apply to an inadvertently played card as long as the correction was made without pause for thought.

 

Can you point to the law mentioning that?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Law 25A deals with "Immediate Correction of Inadvertency". Law 47 seems to say that a played card is a played card. And, I cannot find a Law that addresses the retraction of an inadvertently played card. So, I guess I am wrong. But, it does seem strange that these two situations (inadvertent call and inadvertent play) are not treated in the same way.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

It only applies to cards that have been named. If you play a card by placing it on the table or suchlike, then it can't be retracted even if you feel it got there inadvertently.

It may not technically be a "designation", but I believe an inadvertently played card can be corrected. This happens with some frequency with bidding boxes -- a player intends to bid 2S, but pulls out 2H instead, when he sees 2H on the table he may immediately (without pause for thought) correct the mechanical error. I believe the same would apply to an inadvertently played card as long as the correction was made without pause for thought.

No, the rules for bidding are different to the rules for the play. You can change an inadvertent call but not an inadvertent play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, the rules for bidding are different to the rules for the play. You can change an inadvertent call but not an inadvertent play.

There is 45c4b. If you call for a card from dummy and IMMEDIATELY, without pause for thought, make a correction, you're OK.

 

But if you play the card yourself, it's over, whether you're declarer or defense, including if you play the card from dummy yourself. No corrections.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...