Simpleboi Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 During the middle of the play of a hand, Declarer is in dummy, he plays a card.. RHO then starts to think for some time without playing yet.. Can declarer change a card that he played from dummy when RHO hasnt followed to the trick yet? Does he need to ask opps whether he can change the card? Also if immediately after asking opps RHO follows is it right to do so? Also, is there any difference with/without screens? Thanks for help :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kenrexford Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rogerclee Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No. The screens are up during the play of the hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rossoneri Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No. Don't think there is any difference without screens either. Alternatively, Fabian, ask Mr Liu or Dr Derrick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pclayton Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No he can't. The slot is lifted when screens are in use, so there's no difference. I have heard of bids being retracted with screens however. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No he can't. The slot is lifted when screens are in use, so there's no difference. I have heard of bids being retracted with screens however. It is quite common for screen regulations to allow illegal bids (e.g. insufficient ones) to be changed with no penalty, because partner has no information. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JoAnneM Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 LAW 45 CARD PLAYED a) Play of Named Card A card must be played if a player names or otherwise designates it as the card heproposed to play. (:huh: Correction of Inadvertent Designation A player may, without penalty, change an inadvertent designation if he does so without pause for thought; but if an opponent has, in turn, played a card that was legal before the change in designation, that opponent may withdraw without penalty the card so played and substitute another (see Law 47E). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Jlall Posted June 9, 2008 Report Share Posted June 9, 2008 No he can't. The slot is lifted when screens are in use, so there's no difference. I have heard of bids being retracted with screens however. It is quite common for screen regulations to allow illegal bids (e.g. insufficient ones) to be changed with no penalty, because partner has no information. Yep have seen this happen multiple times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
xcurt Posted June 10, 2008 Report Share Posted June 10, 2008 No he can't. The slot is lifted when screens are in use, so there's no difference. I have heard of bids being retracted with screens however. It is quite common for screen regulations to allow illegal bids (e.g. insufficient ones) to be changed with no penalty, because partner has no information. Yep have seen this happen multiple times. What happens when an illegal bid is pushed through to the other side? I'm not aware of anything in the laws assigning responsibility to the screenmate of the illegal bidder to check the sufficiency of the calls in the tray. Does is matter if the illegal bidder is the N/S player or the E/W player? I've only played with screens a few times and this never happened to me. On the original post -- I don't see any reason to allow declarer to change his card, but there is the Oh S**t case from the Vancouver NABC a while back... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 10, 2008 Report Share Posted June 10, 2008 On the original post -- I don't see any reason to allow declarer to change his card, but there is the Oh S**t case from the Vancouver NABC a while back... The ruling in that case has been roundly and rightly criticized as being totally wrong. It is most certainly not an appropriate precedent for future rulings. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleboi Posted June 10, 2008 Author Report Share Posted June 10, 2008 Ok.. thanks all for the help, I guess shld be illegal to change card, especially even when realised misplayed :P Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
xcurt Posted June 10, 2008 Report Share Posted June 10, 2008 On the original post -- I don't see any reason to allow declarer to change his card, but there is the Oh S**t case from the Vancouver NABC a while back... The ruling in that case has been roundly and rightly criticized as being totally wrong. It is most certainly not an appropriate precedent for future rulings. I agree with the sentiment and I would not have allowed a change of card in that case either. My trailing ellipse was intended to mean "some might see a reason to allow a change of card under some circumstances; it has happened before." Of course, we don't know why declarer wanted to change his card. Did he call something else and not notice that dummy played the wrong card? Having been on committes where I have had to sort out what happened in claims and who-played-what situations from conflicting testimony I would prefer that there be something akin to touch-move in chess -- but those aren't the laws we have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 10, 2008 Report Share Posted June 10, 2008 I would prefer that there be something akin to touch-move in chess -- but those aren't the laws we have. Too true. :D Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skjaeran Posted June 11, 2008 Report Share Posted June 11, 2008 No he can't. The slot is lifted when screens are in use, so there's no difference. I have heard of bids being retracted with screens however. It is quite common for screen regulations to allow illegal bids (e.g. insufficient ones) to be changed with no penalty, because partner has no information. Yep have seen this happen multiple times. What happens when an illegal bid is pushed through to the other side? Then the normal laws (no screen) kicks in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.